Completed meetings and events 2016-2017

Wed 28th June 2017 Club Assembly.

Last meeting of the year, where the Presidents hands over the chain of office and new committee chairs outline their plans for the coming year. read more...

Wed 21st June 2017 Club AGM

The Club's Annual General Meeting. read more...

Wed 14th June 2017 Speakers evening

Tonight we meet at Heatons Sports Club on Green Lane and the speaker will be David Scott, presenting a photographic slide show.

Sat 10th June 2017 Iftar with South Manchester Muslim Community Association

We shared the evening meal with Muslims at their Mosque. read more...

Wed 7th June 2017 Speakers evening

Nan and the Youth Speaks team. Tonight we see Green End Primary School's winning performance in our Youth Speaks competition. Graham will will also talk and show a video of his recent appearance on The Chase. read more...

Wed 7th June 2017 Cheque presentation to Maggies

We have donated £3000.00 towards the running costs of Maggies. read more...

Wed 31st May 2017 Fifth Wedesday

This is the fifth Wednesday in the month, so there is no meeting tonight.

Sat 27th May 2017 President's Night

Masquerade Ball At Stockport Golf Club. A masquerade ball. read more...

Thu 25th May 2017 RocketWorld international learning project

RocketWorld An Intercultural Learning Adventure for 7-11 year olds read more...

Wed 24th May 2017 Speakers evening

Our speaker tonight is Kay Potts, who will speak about trekking in the Annapurna mountain range. read more...

Wed 17th May 2017 Committee reports

Committee chairs report to the club.

Thu 11th May 2017 - Sun 14th May 2017 President's weekend away

Bernadette and David To Bergamo, Italy. read more...

Wed 10th May 2017 Committee meetings

Committees meet after the meal.

Wed 3rd May 2017 Speakers evening

Nan Ironside. A "Topics" evening. read more...

Wed 26th April 2017 Speakers evening

Christine Belton makes a return visit, and her talk will be "The Memory Box". read more...

Wed 19th April 2017 The Rotary Foundation centenary celebration.

The Rotary Foundation A special evening, to celebrate the Centenary of The Rotary Foundation. read more...

Wed 12th April 2017 Committee meetings

Committee meetings follow the meal. read more...

Wed 5th April 2017 Speakers evening

Peter Goulding, a disaster engineer, will speak about some of the disaster areas that he's visited. read more...

Wed 29th March 2017 Chip Shop and Bingo

For our fifth Wednesday meeting, we are going to Taylor's fish and chips shop in Woodley Precinct. read more...

Wed 22nd March 2017 Speakers evening

Glastonbury Phil Rowbotham will speak about Glastonbury. read more...

Wed 15th March 2017 Committee reports

The Lamplighter was awarded to Gordon Bennett, for doing a great job with the Book Give-away event. read more...

Wed 15th March 2017 Blindfold Bowling

Bowling with a blindfold. With Walthew House. read more...

Sat 11th March 2017 Book Giving at Asda

Making use of unwanted books read more...

Wed 8th March 2017 Committee meetings

Committees get together after the meal.

Sat 4th March 2017 Swimathon Challenge 2017

Our annual Swimathon Challenge read more...

Wed 1st March 2017 Speakers evening

Ashok Popat Tonight Ashok Popat will talk about dental work overseas read more...

Wed 22nd February 2017 Speakers evening

Maggie's Sinead Collins, daughter of Kate Turpie, will speak about the childrens cancer charity, Maggie's. read more...

Thu 16th February 2017 Youth Speaks 2017

Youth Speaks 2017 Our annual speaking competition for Stockport primary schools read more...

Wed 15th February 2017 Committee reports

Committee chairs to report to the membership.

Wed 8th February 2017 Committee meetings

Committees will meet after the meal. read more...

Wed 1st February 2017 Club debate

Further details to follow shortly.

Wed 25th January 2017 Speakers evening

Jayne Moran, talking about Clic Sargent, Cancer and Leukaemia in Children.

Tue 24th January 2017 Decorating at Norwood

Dining room makeover by a team of Lamplighters. read more...

Wed 18th January 2017 Committee reports

Committee chairs will report to the Club on their plans for the new year.

Wed 11th January 2017 Committee meetings

First meeting following our successful Christmas collection. Committees have loads of money to spend!

Sun 8th January 2017 New Years Walk

Sunday, January 8th. Shaking off the cobwebs with our New Year Walk, followed by a pub lunch.

Wed 4th January 2017 Speakers evening

Tricia's induction Tonight's speaker is Rev Philip Burrows, talking about being a padre in Afghanistan. read more...

Wed 28th December 2016 No meeting this week

There is no Club meeting between Christmas and New Year.

Wed 21st December 2016 Members' Christmas Party

Fun and games at the last meeting before Christmas.

Wed 14th December 2016 Buffet evening

Because the float is out tonight, this meeting will be much less formal and a buffet will be available. read more...

Sun 11th December 2016 Carol Service

Our annual carol concert and tea party, this year for local people with mental health issues. read more...

Fri 9th December 2016 International Night

International Evening An evening of international music and food to celebrate Christmas read more...

Wed 7th December 2016 Buffet evening

Because the float is out tonight, this meeting will be much less formal and a buffet will be available.

Wed 30th November 2016 Fifth Wedesday

No meeting at the Golf Club.

Tue 29th November 2016 Curry Night

Curry Night In place of our normal Wednesday meeting. read more...

Wed 23rd November 2016 Speakers evening

Windermere Past member of the club, Peter Barnes, whose talk is entitled "Bridge across Windermere"

Wed 16th November 2016 Committee reports

Lamplighter Award Committee chairs report to the club. read more...

Wed 9th November 2016 Committee meetings

Committees will meet after the meal.

Wed 2nd November 2016 Speakers evening

Crime Fiction Barbara Speake, the published author, will speak to us about "Writing Crime Fiction". Partners are invited to this meeting, but please let Barbara know your intentions.

Wed 26th October 2016 NO MEETING THIS WEEK

Due to the golf club being unavailable to us, there is no meeting this week.

Wed 19th October 2016 Committee reports

Committee chairs to report to the club.

Wed 12th October 2016 Committee meetings

Committee meetings to follow the meal.

Wed 5th October 2016 Speakers evening

Petty Pool Lee Burke will talk to us about Petty Pool read more...

Wed 28th September 2016 Speakers evening

Clic Sargent Maria Healy, talking about Clic Sargent read more...

Sun 25th September 2016 Scarecrow Hunt

Lampy Lampy comes to the Heatons! read more...

Wed 21st September 2016 Committee reports

Committee chairs will report to the club

Wed 14th September 2016 Committee meetings

Committee meetings after the meal.

Wed 7th September 2016 Speakers evening

Catherine Rogerson, talking about "Life in the Law" Catherine Rogerson, talking about "Life in the Law" read more...

Wed 31st August 2016 Visit to Bramall Hall

Bramall Hall Guided tour of Bramall Hall followed by meal out. read more...

Thu 25th August 2016 Eye Camp in India

Indian Eye Camp Once again, together with Sandra Bhargava, we sponsored an Eye Camp in India. read more...

Wed 24th August 2016 Speakers evening

Neil Slack Club member Neil Slack will be our speaker, and will talk about World War 2 with a title "What did you do in the war, Daddy?"

Fri 19th August 2016 Charity Golf Competition

The Eric Patton Memorial Trophy read more...

Wed 17th August 2016 Committee reports

Rotary Club of Stockport Lamplighter logo Committee chairs report to the club.

Fri 12th August 2016 Food Packing Event

Club members took part in a Food Packing Event in Warrington. read more...

Wed 10th August 2016 Committee meetings

Rotary Club of Stockport Lamplighter logo Committees meet after the meal. There will also be a presentation by David Brailsford, and Stuart Sawle, District Membership Officer.

Wed 3rd August 2016 Speakers evening

Blood Bikes Manchester Steve Thompson is our speaker tonight, talking about Blood Bikes in Manchester. read more...

Sun 31st July 2016 Last Night of the Proms

A great evening of patriotic music, singing and flag waving at a packed Bridgewater Hall in Manchester.

Wed 27th July 2016 Speakers evening

Fostering Vivien and Peter Heighway will talk about Fostering in Stockport

Wed 20th July 2016 Committee reports

Rotary Club of Stockport Lamplighter logo Committee chairs will report to the club. read more...

Sat 16th July 2016 Battle of the Somme commemoration

The story of five people from the Heatons who died. read more...

Wed 13th July 2016 Committee meetings

Rotary Club of Stockport Lamplighter logo The first committee meetings of the new Rotary Year is sure to be a busy night.

Wed 6th July 2016 Open Gardens Celebration Dinner

A meeting to celebrate the Heatons Open Gardens event. read more...

Sun 3rd July 2016 President's Final Fling

Masterchef Philip Garden party at Philip and Hester's. read more...
future calendar district events local events