Completed meetings and events 2014-2015

Wed 24th June 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Wed 17th June 2015 Lunch Business Meeting at 1.00 pm

Presidents' Lunch. This is our annual joint lunch with the members of Douglas Inner Wheel Club. As usual there will be a sale of cakes and jams etc made by the IW Ladies. Buy early!

Wed 3rd June 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

This is a Business Meeting and the last for this Rotary Year.
Please note that there is no meeting on 10th June as this is TT week.

Tue 2nd June 2015 Council Meeting

Final Council Meeting for the 2014/15 Rotary Year.

Wed 27th May 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Venue today is back to the Mount Murray Golf Club.
In a change to the scheduled programme, our Club AGM will take place today at 1.30pm.

Wed 20th May 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Our Speaker today is Judy Arnold who will be talking about 'End of Life Matters'.

Wed 13th May 2015 Evening Meeting at 6.00 pm

Rotarian Bob Dowty will be presenting an illustrated talk on Manx Sport in the Victorian Era. This promises to be a fascinating evening as Bob' s love of sport and history combine!

Wed 6th May 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

This is a Business Meeting.

Tue 5th May 2015 Council Meeting at 6.00 pm

Wed 29th April 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Fri 24th April 2015 Charter Night Dinner

91st Charter Night Anniversary Dinner. Black Tie dinner at the Claremont Hotel, Douglas. 7.30 pm for 8.00pm.

Wed 15th April 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Members of RCO Billericay Mayflower who joined us for lunch. Also pictured are President Ann and PE Kevin.

Wed 8th April 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Tue 7th April 2015 Council Meeting at 6.00 pm

Wed 1st April 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Wed 25th March 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

At today's lunch the winners of the Senior Public Speaking competition - King William's College - will be joining us and will reprise their performance from last week.

Thu 19th March 2015 Secondary Schools' Public Speaking Competition

The second of our Public Speaking Competitions, this time for Secondary Schools will be held at Castle Rushen High School at 7.00pm

Wed 18th March 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

At today's meeting we will have the pleasure of hearing the winning team from this year's Junior Public Speaking Competition - Arbory School. Prompt start at 1.00pm as we shall be hearing from Arbory first before the meal.

Mon 16th March 2015 Primary Schools' Public Speaking Competition

The annual Public Speaking Competition for junior schools will take place at Cronk y Berry school at 6.00pm

Wed 11th March 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Due to Charity Night being held last Friday, this is a Lunch meeting and also a Business Meeting.
Nick Watson will also be doing his My Job talk complete with foliage!

Fri 6th March 2015 Charity Night 2015

This year's Charity Night event!

Tue 3rd March 2015 Council Meeting at 6.00 pm

Monthly Council Meeting at the Mount Murray.

Fri 27th February 2015 Winter Hill Commemoration

Commemoration of the 57th Anniversary of the Winter Hill Air Crash. Subject to weather conditions a short service and wreath laying will be held at the site of the Rotary plaque in Cooil y Ree Park, St. John's at 10.30am followed by refreshments at Greens

Wed 25th February 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Global Rotary Thanks For Life - End Polio Day

Wed 18th February 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Wed 11th February 2015 Evening Meeting and Wine Tasting

Please note this event will be taking place at the British Hotel, North Quay, Douglas. The cost will be £12.50 for the meal and £10 for the Wine Tasting.

Wed 4th February 2015 Lunch Business Meeting at 1.00 pm

This is a Business Meeting following last night's Council Meeting. On the menu today is a choice of Lamb Hot Pot served with a panache of vegetables or Sweet Potato Curry with Rice followed by dessert, tea or coffee.

Tue 3rd February 2015 Council Meeting at 6.00 pm

Monthly Council Meeting and quarterly Lockington Marshall meeting.

Wed 28th January 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

For today's lunch there is Soup followed by Beef or Vegetable Lasagna served with seasonal salad.

Sat 24th January 2015 Manor Ark refurbishment

A working party will be busy taking down some internal walls and removing an old bathroom in the building which was once the Police Station. It is now being turned into an Community Centre for Pulrose thanks to some funds from our Club and some hard work.

Wed 21st January 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Lunch today will be a choice of Chicken Ham & Mushroom Pie OR Vegetable Bake, both served with Chips and Garden Peas followed by Dessert, Tea or Coffee.

Wed 14th January 2015 Evening Meeting at 6.00 pm

Our Speaker this evening is Phil Adams who is Team Manager for Isle of Man Coastguard Rescue Service.
This evening's meal will consist of Melon with Strawberries and fruit coulis, followed by Cottage Pie with green beans & carrots or 4 Cheese Tortellini

Wed 7th January 2015 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Business Meeting and Colin Finney will deliver a New Year's Message.

Tue 6th January 2015 Council Meeting at 6.00 pm

Wed 17th December 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Christmas Lunch with wives, husbands, partners, family and friends.

Wed 10th December 2014 Evening Meeting at 6.00 pm

The Annual General Meeting of the Rotary Club of Douglas Charitable Trust (the company) will be held this evening.
Following this we shall hear from William Swithinbank who will tell us about his efforts in Kenya to build an orphanage.

Wed 3rd December 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

This is now the annual Foundation Lunch extravaganza. In addition it is a Business Lunch and there will also be the Election of certain Club Officers for 2015/16.

Tue 2nd December 2014 Council Meeting at 6.00 pm

Wed 26th November 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Wed 19th November 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Foundation Lunch has been postponed and will now be on 3rd December.

Wed 12th November 2014 Evening Meeting at 6.00 pm

Our Speaker this evening is Hector Duff who will talk about his work in schools speaking about his wartime experiences.

Sun 9th November 2014 Remembrance Sunday

Members wishing to join the Parade should assemble at 9.15 at Market Hill. The Service at St. Thomas's Church starts at 10.00, until 10.40 when the procession will move to the War memorial. A Rotary wreath will be laid at the War Memorial.

Wed 5th November 2014 Lunch Business Meeting at 1.00 pm

Business lunch at The Mount Murray Hotel

Tue 4th November 2014 Council Meeting at 6.00 pm

Wed 29th October 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Wed 22nd October 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

This will be a special lunch for World Polio Day. There will be a number of surprises before during and after lunch and the Hotel will be preparing some appropriate food for us. This lunch will be talked about for a long time - Do Not Miss It!

Wed 15th October 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Wed 8th October 2014 Evening Business Meeting at 6.00 pm

DG Stuart Sawle will be giving us a short presentation tonight followed by a talk by Chris Weeks of Manx National Heritage on the work being done to conserve the Peggy in Castletown.

Tue 7th October 2014 Council Meeting at 6.00 pm

Wed 1st October 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Wed 24th September 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

This is our annual International Lunch - bring friends, family, as many as you can.

Wed 17th September 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

We are very pleased to have as our guest speaker today Elizaveta Tamaroa who is a Sixth Form student at KWC. Elizaveta recently travelled to India to look at that country's medical procedures and she will be telling us about her experiences there.

Wed 10th September 2014 Evening Meeting at 6.00 pm

Tonight's Speaker is Phil Craine who is a volunteer observer for the West Bank Peace Mission. This should be a fascinating talk and please come along and bring guests as well.

Wed 3rd September 2014 Lunch Business Meeting at 1.00 pm

Lunch meeting at The Mount Murray Hotel. With us today will be Paula Gelling from Victim Support who will be giving us an update on that Charity's work in the community.

Tue 2nd September 2014 Council Meeting at 6.00 pm

Wed 27th August 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Wed 20th August 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Wed 13th August 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Lunch Meeting at the Mount Murray Hotel

Tue 12th August 2014 Council Meeting at 6.00 pm

Council meeting postponed from the 5th August due to absence of President, President Elect and Vice President!
Meeting will be held at the Mount Murray Hotel at 6.00pm.
Reports to be sent to Assistant Secretary Peter Tyreman by 3rd August.

Wed 6th August 2014 A Walk in the Curraghs

There will be a guided walk through the Curraghs this evening, followed by refreshments at a local hostelry.
This event replaces what would normally be an evening meeting.

Wed 30th July 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00pm

Lunch Meeting at the Mount Murray Hotel, Santon

Sun 27th July 2014 Summer Fun Day

Annual Rotary Fun Day will be held at Douglas Rugby Club, Port e Chee, Douglas. Great food, drinks and fellowship. Book early to secure your tickets!

Fri 25th July 2014 - Sun 27th July 2014 Summer Youth Camp

Annual District Summer Camp. This is a joint effort with the other Manx Clubs and is a huge commitment from the Youth Committee. However it is usually the highlight of the District Camp.

Wed 23rd July 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Lunch Meeting at the Mount Murray Hotel, Santon

Wed 16th July 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00 pm

Lunch meeting at the Mount Murray Hotel, Santon

Wed 9th July 2014 Golf Day

Annual Rotary Golf Competition at Peel Golf Club scheduled for today has unfortunately had to be postponed.

Wed 9th July 2014 Evening Meeting at 6.00pm

Evening meeting at the Mount Murray Hotel. This will be our formal Handover Meeting to the new President and Council for 2014/15 as well as our Club Assembly. Martin Blackburn will be our Guest Speaker. PDG Colin Ince will also be attending.

Wed 2nd July 2014 Lunch Meeting at 1.00pm

Meeting at the Mount Murray Hotel, this will be our Club Assembly when our new (or not so new) Committee Chairmen will be setting out their plans for the coming 12 months.

Tue 1st July 2014 Council Meeting at 6.00pm

Monthly Council Meeting
future calendar district events local events