Golfing Gold returns to Thornhill

Fri 6th September 2013

Kilgour triumphs at Lochmaben.

Show related pages

Order is restored with the overdue return to Thornhill of the Ian Marshall Trophy and the John Kenny Cup.

Playing the challenging Lochmaben course in beautiful weather and good conditions Gavin Kilgour won the individual trophy and this gave his team mates of Brian Hunter, Gordon Lawson and David Marshall the chance to add enough points to steal the John Kenny trophy by a decent margin from the recently rampant Dumfries Club in second place.

A score of 108 points from the best three of the individual scores was enough to get the trophies.

Having won in 2010 when Peter Wray took the individual at Southerness, this year Thornhill were represented by two teams in this, unique for the District, 7 team competition.

Congratulations Gavin. Can we expect the club to share the hard won gains?

Thanks also to Jack, Ed, Robin and Alistair who clearly played the crucial "spoiling ploy" with their team disrupting the concentration of the other challengers.

( Hopefully we will have photos of the event from John Carpenter before long).