Thu 28th February 2019 at 13.00 - 16.00

District Final: Congleton High school

District Final 28th February 2019

Congleton High School.

REPORTfrom District 1285 Young Chef Co-ordinator  Rtn Roger T Shepherd PHF.   


“Girl-Power” swept the awards at our  District Young Chef  Final 2019.

RC Congleton not only hosted a splendid Competition, but they also took

took First Place.


Daisy McAllister calmly edged herself into winning, following  her 1st Place in

Qualifying Heat One, last November.  A great achievement !



RC Frodsham, and Helsby student Paula McCallum, took 2nd place, after her 

School had taken a “time-out” last year. Some comeback!


RC Ramsbottom had 3 Woodhey High contestants entered, showing strengh

 in numbers, after an  amazing initial School entry of 100 plus would-be 

Young Chefs. So Amelia Tweddle in 3rd place, was indeed …hard-earned!


Judges again experienced an extremely close Competition, requiring full use 

of the extensive marking sheet,to finaly separate them.


These three girls now progress into the Rotary Regional Final on Saturday

16th March at Kendal College.  “Our Districts1285 Girl-Power Team!”

With a very good chance of  snatching the 1st place (only) entry into the

National Final at Leeds City Centre College. on 27th April 2019.


But credit is due to all our District Final Team, who  put on a superb

Competition, for all to watch, and later taste, their quality cooking.


Youngest Finalist was 12yr old Niamb OKelly from Hope Academy,

Spencer Collins from Woodhey High, and Mollie-mae Hodson also 13 ,(who was 

ill, and sadly missed the event), but still deserved her trophy. Will King, Helsy High,

and Harrison Humby, Woodhey, also fought the boys corner admirably,  and 

Zainab Azam, RC Radcliffe and Derby High,was an impressive first-year finalist.

Rtn Roger T Shepherd  PHF..Rotary Dist 1285 Young Chef Co-ordinator
The Rotary Club of Newton-le-Willows congratulate Niamb on her performance at this years competition. The standard was very high and we hope that she, and the school will compete again next year.
Well done to all our students who competed.