Completed meetings and events 2019-2020

Tue 30th June 2020 ZOOM MEETING

ZOOM SPEAKER

GEORGE ENGLISH: HISTORY OF THE MAYFLOWER

This will be followed by an Advisory Board Meeting to discuss plans going forward. read more...

Tue 23rd June 2020 ZOOM MEETING

CLUB AGM read more...

Tue 16th June 2020 ZOOM COMMITTEE AND BUSINESS MEETIMGS

Our monthly Committee and Business Meetings;

COMMITTEE MEETINGS WILL BE HELD BY ZOOM ON THIRD TUESDAY. EACH COMMITTEE WILL ARRANGE SPECIFIC TIME AND INDIVIDUAL CHAIRS WILL NOTIFY THEIR MEMBERS ACCORDINGLY

Tue 9th June 2020 ZOOM MEETING

OUR REGULAR MEETINGS HAVE NOW BEEN REPLACED WITH ZOOM MEETINGS

Thu 4th June 2020 DISTRICT ASSEMBLY Part 2 ZOOM

This is the second part of this years' District Assembly

Wed 3rd June 2020 DISTRICT ASSEMBLY Part 1 ZOOM

The annual District Assembly will take place by ZOOM. This is a ticketed event, details for booking on members section of website

Tue 2nd June 2020 ZOOM MEETING

OUR REGULAR WEEKLY MEETINGS DURING THE CRISIS HAVE BEEN REPLACED WITH ZOOM MEETINGS

Tue 26th May 2020 NO LUNCH TIME MEETING THIS WEEK

No meeting on a Tuesday after a Bank Holiday
ALL MEETINGS CANCELLED

Tue 19th May 2020 COMMITTEE AND BUSINESS MEETING: St Patrick's Parish Centre

THIS MEETING HAS NOW BEEN CANCELLED

Sat 16th May 2020 ST HELENS SUPER WRITERS 2020 AWARDS

Chester Lane Library
Awards presentation for the winning entrants of this years competition
THIS WILL NOW BE RESCHEDULED FOR LATER IN THE YEAR

Tue 12th May 2020 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

THIS MEETING HAS NOW BEEN CANCELLED

Tue 5th May 2020 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

THIS MEETING HAS NOW BEEN CANCELLED

Tue 28th April 2020 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

THIS MEETING HAS NOW BEEN CANCELLED

Mon 27th April 2020 OVER 60's CONCERT

Haydock Conservative Club

THIS EVENT HAS NOW BEEN CANCELLED

Tue 21st April 2020 COMMITTEE AND BUSINESS MEETING: St Patrick's Parish Centre

THIS MEETING HAS NOW BEEN CANCELLED

Tue 14th April 2020 NO LUNCH TIME MEETING THIS WEEK

No meeting on the Tuesday after a bank holiday

Tue 7th April 2020 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

THIS MEETING HAS NOW BEEN CANCELLED

Tue 31st March 2020 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club


THIS MEETING HAS NOW BEEN CANCELLED

Tue 24th March 2020 Evening Visit

VISIT TO LEIGH COMMUNITY FIRE STATION

THIS VISIT IS NOW CANCELLED

Tue 17th March 2020 COMMITTEE AND BUSINESS MEETING: St Patrick's Parish Centre

Monthly Committee and Business Meeting

THIS MEETING HAS NOW BEEN CANCELLED

Sun 15th March 2020 LOWTON COMMUNITY LITTER PICK

In preparation for the Keep Britain Tidy Great British Spring Clean a small team of six Rotarians will be out litter picking in Lowton
MORE DETAILS TO FOLLOW

Tue 10th March 2020 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: STEVE ATHERTON
HUMAN TRAFFICKING
Fellowship Stewards: John Kilshaw, Ian McKenna
Hospital Visitors: Geoff Fisher, Ian Bowden

Thu 5th March 2020 - Sat 25th April 2020 ST HELEN'S SUPER WRITERS 2020

We are again supporting the St Helen's Creative Writing Competition which is slightly different this year. read more...

Tue 3rd March 2020 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: JOANNE FREEMAN, BRAINWAVE
Fellowship Stewards: John Hilton, Derek Hirst
Hospital Visitors: Geoff Fisher, Ian Bowden

Wed 26th February 2020 YOUNG CHEF COMPETITION-DISTRICT FINAL



Venue: Hope Academy


read more...

Wed 26th February 2020 EXCITEMENT OF SCIENCE LECTURE MANCHESTER UNIVERSITY

"THE HUNT FOR ALIENS AND THEIR WORLDS"
DR EAMONN KERINS -Astro-physicist.

read more...

Tue 25th February 2020 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: BRENDA BARROWMAN AND JOANNE CROMPTON
KERSHAW DAY CENTRE
Fellowship Stewards: John Hilton, Derek Hirst
Hospital Visitors: Brian Woodward, John Murray

Tue 18th February 2020 COMMITTEE AND BUSINESS MEETING: St Patrick's Parish Centre

Our monthly committee and Business Meeting.
Fellowship Stewards: Chantelle Seaborn, Andrew Stockton
Hospital Visitors: Brian Woodward, John Murray

Tue 11th February 2020 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: TESSA MCGRATH, ZOE'S PLACE
Fellowship Stewards: Les Greenall. Denis Hall
Hospital Visitors: Austin Polding, Jack Bradshaw

Sun 9th February 2020 MEAL PACK EVENT

Supporting St Helens and Prescot Rotary Clubs in their meal packing event for RISE AGAINST HUNGER
read more...

Tue 4th February 2020 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

DUE TO A POWER OUTAGE TODAY'S MEETING IS CANCELLED
Planned speaker now scheduled for FEB 25

Fri 31st January 2020 CHRSTMAS FLOAT PRESENTATION EVENING

St Patrick's Parish Centre
An evening where community groups receive a donation for their help on this years float. read more...

Tue 28th January 2020 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: GILLIAN MOORE. Inspire to Aspire
Fellowship Stewards: Ray Edwardson, Geoff Fisher
Hospital Visitors: Ian Parr, Tony Chandler

Wed 22nd January 2020 YOUTH SPEAKS: DISTRICT HEAT- CULCHETH

More details to follow

Tue 21st January 2020 COMMITTEE AND BUSINESS MEETING: St Patrick's Parish Centre

Monthly Committee and Business Meeting
Stewards: Andrew Stockton, Ronnie Beddows
Hospital visitors: Ian Parr. Tony Chandler

Fri 17th January 2020 BURNS NIGHT

Haydock Park Golf Club
In aid of Smiling Valley School, South Africa
FURTHER DETAILS TO FOLLOW

Tue 14th January 2020 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: GEOFF SIMM (Local Historian)
Fellowship Stewards: Ray Edwardson, Geoff Fisher
Hospital Visitors: Barry Curran, Les Greenhall

Wed 8th January 2020 SOCIAL EVENING AT THE FIRKIN

This is a club social event at the Firkin, High Street, NLW including a hot finger buffet and quiz from 9.00pm

Tue 7th January 2020 NO LUNCH TIME MEETING THIS WEEK

This week the club will hold an evening social event

Tue 31st December 2019 NO CLUB MEETING THIS WEEK

Christmas holiday

Tue 24th December 2019 NO CLUB MEETING THIS WEEK

Christmas holiday

Sun 22nd December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT (STATIC) VISITS M and S GEMINI

Our final visit for this year will be at M and S and Rotarians will again help with their second Christmas party before collecting in store.

Sat 21st December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT (STATIC) VISITS M and S GEMINI

This will be our second weekend visiting the store

Thu 19th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT

Our finale tour on the road takes us to NEWTON starting at MOORE'S FARM ASHTON ROAD and supported by BUSINESS FOR YOUTH

Wed 18th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT

Tonight the float visits BURTONWOOD starting at THE CHAPEL HOUSE PUB and supported by BURTONWOOD COMMUNITY CENTRE

Tue 17th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT

Tonight the float pays a visit to VULCAN starting at NEWTON COMMUNITY CENTRE and supported by WARGRAVE HOUSE SCHOOL

Tue 17th December 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

PRESENTATION OF YEAR END ACCOUNTS
REVIEW OF FLOAT

Fellowship Stewards: Phil Round Mike Eaves
Hospital visit:

Mon 16th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT

The start of our third week oh the road sees the float visit MAKERFIELD DRIVE starting at VISTA ROAD MEDICAL CENTRE. Tonight we are supported by NEWTON COMMUNITY CENTRE

Sun 15th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT (STATIC) VISITS M and S GEMINI

Before collecting in store Rotarians will help with the first of two christmas parties for staff and children

Sat 14th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT (STATIC) VISITS M and S GEMINI

This weekend our float will be at M and S Gemini

Fri 13th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT

Tonight we have our second new round visiting for the first time STONE CROSS and starting at THE HARE AND HOUNDS PUB. We shall be supported by EARLESTOWN CRICKET CLUB

Thu 12th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT

Tonight we are on MILL LANE starting at the MILLSTONE and supported by NEWTON AND EARLESTOWN COMMUNITY GROUP

Wed 11th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT

Tonight we are in BELVEDERE ROAD starting at the corner by the MEDICAL CENTRE. We will be supported by DISTRICT C of E

Tue 10th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT

Tonight we are in the COMMON ROAD area starting in MARKET STREET and supported by BUSINESS FOR YOUTH AND EARLESTOWN LIGHTS

Tue 10th December 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

FESTIVE LUNCH

Fellowship Stewards: Tony Chandler, Derek Hirst
Hospital visits: Father Christmas to deliver presents to patients

Mon 9th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT

Our first visit this week will be to THE TREES ESTATE starting at MESNES PARK supported by the DISTRICT C of E SCHOOL

Sun 8th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT (STATIC) TESCO EARLESTOWN

The static float will again be on the carpark.

Sat 7th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT (STATIC)

TESCO (EARLESTOWN) CARPARK
The static float will be present and Rotarians will be collecting for local causes.

Fri 6th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT

Tonight the float has a brand new round visiting for the first time THE VIADUCT ESTATE and EARLESTOWN. Starting point is by EARLESTOWN CRICKET CLUB who will be supporting us on this event.

Thu 5th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT

Tonight the float will visit the WARGRAVE area starting at VICTORIA ROAD and supported by WARGRAVE HOUSE SCHOOL

Thu 5th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT TO VISIT NBGC

The float will pay a visit to Haydock Street where the Boys and Girls club will be holding a Christmas Grotto (4 -9pm)

Wed 4th December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT

Tonight the float will be in LOWTON starting at BRAITHWAITE ROAD and supported by BUSINESS FOR YOUTH

Wed 4th December 2019 COFFEE IN THE PARK

Come and join in the festival cheer with Joyce and the All Saints ladies for a party in the park.

NOTE THE DATE FOR THIS EVENT HAS BEEN CHANGED read more...

Tue 3rd December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT

Tonight the float will be on THE BIRD ESTATE starting at SANDERLING DRIVE and supported by NEWTON BOYS AND GIRLS CLUB

Tue 3rd December 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: JOHN UNSWORTH, Commanding Officer, TS Warspite.

Fellowship Stewards: Tony Chandler, Derek Hirst
Hospital visits: Ian Bowden, Syd Slater

Mon 2nd December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT

Tonight the float starts its annual tour visiting GOLBORNE, starting at BARN LANE. supported by EARLESTOWN CRICKET CLUB

Sun 1st December 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT TO VISIT NEWTON HIGH STREET

Our float and Santa will be on the High Street this Sunday to mark the switch on of the Christmas Tree by St Peters Church

Fri 29th November 2019 CHRISTMAS FLOAT VISITS HAYDOCK LIBRARY

The float and santa will visit the library on Church Road for the lighting of the Christmas Tree

Tue 26th November 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: LEN RAINFORD
Franchising the Key to Success

Fellowship Stewards: Ian Bowden, Jack Bradshaw
Hospital visits: John Murray, Geoff Fisher read more...

Sun 24th November 2019 CHRISTMAS LIGHTS IN EARLESTOWN

Our Christmas float will be making its appearance at the light switch on. Earlestown Market read more...

Fri 22nd November 2019 RACE NIGHT

Our annual race night is now planned to be held at St Patrick's Parish Centre. If you would like to join us please press contactus button in the top left hand drop down MENU or ring John Graves on 07775 777237

Tue 19th November 2019 Committee and Business Meeting

ST PATRICK'S PARISH CENTRE
Fellowship Stewards: Ian Bowden, Jack Bradshaw
Hospital visits: John Murray, Geoff Fisher

Wed 13th November 2019 CHARTER NIGHT 2019


Our 81st annual charter celebrations.
Guest: John Hotowka read more...

Tue 12th November 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

NO SPEAKER THIS WEEK

Fellowship Stewards: Brian Woodward, Stuart Ainscough
Hospital visits: Jack Bradshaw, Brian Woodward

Tue 5th November 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: IAN PARR Christmas float Strategy

Fellowship Stewards: Brian Woodward, Stuart Ainscough
Hospital visits: Jack Bradshaw, Brian Woodward

Tue 29th October 2019 Evening Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: LILLIAN KING, QPM, Ex Chief Supt GM Police
Talk: "Me, the Police, the Queen and other mishaps"

Fellowship Stewards: Ken Smith, Bob Thomson
Hospital visits: Ian Parr, Geoff Shaw

Wed 23rd October 2019 YOUNG CHEF COMPETITION

This years local heat will be held at Hope Academy

Tue 22nd October 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: EMILY CLAY, CLATTERBRIDGE CANCER CHARITY.

Fellowship Stewards: Ken Smith, Bob Thomson
Hospital visits: Ian Parr, Geoff Shaw

Tue 15th October 2019 Committee and Business Meeting

ST PATRICK'S PARISH CENTRE

Fellowship Stewards: Syd Slater, David Smith
Hospital visitors: Austin Polding, Tony Chandler

Tue 8th October 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: STAN BOWES- WORLD POLIO

Fellowship Stewards: Syd Slater, David Smith
Hospital visitors: Austin Polding, Tony Chandler

Tue 1st October 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: GILL DICKINSON, EPIPHANY TRUST

Fellowship Stewards: John Shaw, Geoff Shaw
Hospital visits: John Shaw, Barry Curran

Tue 24th September 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: Nicki Skrzypczak, St Helens Council Music Services

Fellowship Stewards: John Shaw, Geoff Shaw
Hospital visits: John Shaw, Barry Curran

Tue 17th September 2019 Committee and Business Meeting

ST PATRICK'S PARISH CENTRE
START : 7.15pm
Fellowship Stewards: Ronnie Beddard, Chantelle Seaborn
Hospital visitors: Syd Slater, Denis Hall

Tue 10th September 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: THE JOHN VARDY AWARDS

Fellowship Stewards: Alan Robinson, Barry Curran
Hospital visitors: Syd Slater, Denis Hall

Sat 7th September 2019 NEWTON GARDENERS'ASSOCIATION ANNUAL SHOW

We shall again be supporting this year's event which will be held at Penkford School

Wed 4th September 2019 COFFEE IN THE PARK

This month's coffee morning will be in aid of Willowbrook Hospice

Tue 3rd September 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: BARRIE COATES (LEIGH RC)
PROPOSED WIGAN CLUSTER JOINT PROJECT: ASHANTI

Fellowship Stewards: Alan Robinson, Barry Curran
Hospital visits: Geoff Fisher, Ian Bowden

Thu 29th August 2019 KENYON HALL FARM VISIT

A visit to a local farm for a brief tour, talk by Todd Bulmer and a hot pot supper.

Tue 27th August 2019 NO CLUB MEETING THIS WEEK

No club meeting this week following a bank holiday

Tue 20th August 2019 Committee and Business Meeting

ST PATRICKS PARISH CENTRE

Fellowship Stewards: Chantelle Seaborn, Andrew Stockton
Hospital Visits: Brian Woodward, John Murray

Tue 13th August 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: GEOFF SIMM, Local Historian
THE RISE OF EARLESTOWN

Fellowship Stewards: Austin Polding, Craig Roberts
Hospital Visits: Brian Woodward, John Murray

Tue 6th August 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKER: RAY EDWARDSON - JOB TALK

Fellowship Stewards: Austin Polding, Craig Roberts
Hospital visits: Geoff Shaw, Jack Bradshaw

Sat 3rd August 2019 Newton Town Show

The club will be in attendance with its Coconut Shy

Tue 30th July 2019 Evening Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

SPEAKERS: GILL ELLISON, ROSIE WOODS
MIND (St Helens)

Fellowship Stewards: Ian Parr, Alan Pomfret
Hospital Visits: Geoff Shaw, Jack Bradshaw. read more...

Tue 23rd July 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

Speaker: CLARE DAVIES, HONEYPOT CHILDREN'S CHARITY

Fellowship Stewards: Ian Parr, Alan Pomfret
Hospital visits: Ian Parr, Tony Chandler

Wed 17th July 2019 BOWLING CHALLENGE MATCH

Newton Rotary v Mesnes Park Bowlers
Hand of Friendship Trophy

Tue 16th July 2019 Committee and Business Meeting

St Patrick's Parish Centre

Fellowship Stewards: Andrew Stockton, Ronnie Beddard
Hospital visits: Ian Parr, Tony Chandler

Wed 10th July 2019 BOWLING CHALLENGE MATCH

Newton Rotary v Probus
Croft

Tue 9th July 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

CLUB ASSEMBLY
Assistant Governor, Kevin Maddox

Fellowship Stewards: Ian McKenna, John Murray
Hospital visits: Barry Curran, Austin Polding read more...

Wed 3rd July 2019 COFFEE IN THE PARK

In aid of the Dianne Oxberry Trust

Tue 2nd July 2019 Lunch Meeting: Haydock Park Golf Club

YOUNG PHOTOGRAPHER'S AWARDS

Fellowship Stewards: Ian McKenna, John Murray
Hospital visits: Barry Curran, Austin Polding read more...
future calendar district events local events