Completed meetings and events 2019-2020

Fri 17th April 2020 Presidents Night & Club 70th Birthday - POSTPONED

POSTPONED until the current COVID-19 crisis has passed.

Thu 26th March 2020 Business Meeting - CANCELLED

@ Sturminster Marshall Golf Club
.
Members discuss business matters

Thu 19th March 2020 Natasha & Wendy from Leaf Collect Cheque - CANCELLED

@ Sturminster Marshall Golf Club
.
LEAF supports blood cancer patients

Thu 12th March 2020 John Slow - Gambling in the UK (Evening Meeting)

@ Sturminster Marshall Golf Club
.
John's insight into gambling

Thu 5th March 2020 Peter Long MBE - Fiji Children

@ Sturminster Marshall Golf Club
.
MBE for Work with children in Fiji

Thu 27th February 2020 - Thu 20th February 2020 Business Meeting

CHANGED VENUE: Cobhams Social Club
Business Meeting

Thu 20th February 2020 Helpful Hounds Assistance Dogs - Sally Harvey

CHANGED Venue:
COBHAMS SPORT & SOCIAL CLUB
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Helpful Hounds is an organisation dedicated to training assistance dogs for young people and providing owner trained programmes

Thu 13th February 2020 Death In Paradise

Venue: Prezzo, 5 West Borough
Neil Hutchinson & Peter Douch

Mon 10th February 2020 Jazz @ The Allendale

Swing Unlimited Big Band.
An exciting evening of classic and contemporary big band swing, featuring the music of such greats as Duke Ellington, Count Basie & Jools Holland.

Thu 6th February 2020 Poole Hospital Charity - Zoe Nicholson

Venue: T.B.A

The charity launched in 2004 and makes a huge difference to the experience of thousands of patients, from funding tiny cots to major refurbishment.

Thu 30th January 2020 MARS Trust - Ian Shears

MARS aim is to introduce young people to the impact of using positive relationship skills and to help empower them to make informed relationship decisions read more...

Thu 23rd January 2020 Business Meeting

Club members discuss business matters

Thu 16th January 2020 MEETING CANCELLED

VENUE CLOSED
Update on the activity and requirements of the Wimborne Food Bank

Thu 9th January 2020 Burns Night (Evening meeting)

Traditional celebration of Burns Night

Thu 2nd January 2020 No Meeting

No meeting this week

Thu 26th December 2019 No Meeting

No meeting this week

Thu 19th December 2019 Turkey & Mince Pies (Evening meeting)

.

Thu 12th December 2019 Paper Life - Mike Yates

?

Sat 7th December 2019 Santa Fun Run @ Allenbourne School

New route starting from Allenbourne School read more...

Thu 5th December 2019 Christmas Dinner @ Crane Valley

Members & guests

Thu 28th November 2019 The Margaret Green Animal Sanctuary - Jazmin House

Margaret Green Animal Rescue take in pets that have become homeless due to a change in circumstances, or that have been neglected, mistreated or abandoned.

Thu 21st November 2019 Business Meeting

Club discusses business matters

Thu 14th November 2019 TO BE ADVISED (Evening at Walford Mill)

?

Thu 7th November 2019 No Meeting

No Club meeting due to visit to Ferndown Rotary on the 6th November.

Sat 2nd November 2019 ROTARY Craft Fair

Annual Craft Fair @ The Allendale Centre

Thu 31st October 2019 Paul Sturgess - Dorset of Old (Evening)

Social evening at the Hamworthy Club

Fri 25th October 2019 Fashion Show @ Merley House

Tickets @ £12.50 to include a glass of wine and nibbles

Thu 24th October 2019 Action for Children - speaker tba

Update on the Charities activities

Thu 17th October 2019 Wendy Carter - L.E.A.F

Update on the Charities activities

Thu 10th October 2019 Beetle Drive (Evening)

Social evening at Walford Mill

Fri 4th October 2019 Charity Concert - Harp & Ukulele

At the Methodist Church Wimborne
Entrance Free - Donation on exit

Thu 3rd October 2019 Neil Bichard - My World Scout Trip

Neil gives us an insight to a World Scouting event

Sat 28th September 2019 Blood Pressure Testing Day

Get your blood pressure checked for free - at Wimborne Methodist Church. read more...

Fri 27th September 2019 Defibrillator Awareness Training @ The Allendale Centre

Two sessions of training in the use of a defibrillator @ 14:00 or 19:00
Tickets can be booked on-line - see below read more...

Thu 26th September 2019 Business Meeting

Club discusses business matters

Thu 19th September 2019 The Club Debate - Should Drugs be Legalised?

A number of drugs are currently banned - should any or all be legalised?

Thu 12th September 2019 Marion Cox - Life of a Theatre Critic

We can all be critical but Marion give us an insight into life as a professional Theatre Critic.

Thu 5th September 2019 Curry Night - Evening meeting at Walford Mill

Special Curry night with a raffle & Presidents draw

Thu 29th August 2019 Room for Reward - Adam Terpening

Room to Reward is a unique volunteer-recognition charity created to say ‘thank you’ to the Hidden Heroes – inspirational volunteers who give up their time to make a difference to those who need it most.
Our partner hotels donate their unsold rooms,

Thu 22nd August 2019 Business Meeting

Club discusses business matters.
TOOLS Event - bring along any unused tools

Thu 15th August 2019 Mindfulness meditation - Penny Nicolas

Its all in the mind.......................

Sun 11th August 2019 CANCELLED - Wimborne Walking Quiz & Cream Tea

.CANCELLED

Thu 8th August 2019 BBQ @ Walford Mill Bistro (Evening Meeting)

An evening at Walford Mill

Sun 4th August 2019 Sunday Walk & BBQ

Meet at the Meaden's.
Start with a walk at 11.00 up Hod Hill so reasonably strenuous.
For those not wanting to walk the bbq time is 1.00
Bring own drinks and chairs at £10 per head.
Profit for Rotary charities.

Thu 1st August 2019 Jonathan Holyhead - Dorset Blind Association

Dorset Blind Association: supporting blind and partially sighted people to live happy lives.

Thu 25th July 2019 No Meeting

No meeting today as Beach Hut event yesterday

Wed 24th July 2019 BRANKSOME BEACH HUT - Games evening

Members guests are welcome to a "Pointless" - Social evening read more...

Thu 18th July 2019 Business Meeting

Club Business discussions

Thu 11th July 2019 "The Survey" - Donald Brook (EVENING MEETING)

Donald will conduct a survey to obtain members opinions of a number of Club matters.
@ the Millstrean Bisto - Informal/smart casual dress

Thu 4th July 2019 Lucy Knott - My experiences in Uganda

Lucy recounts her experiences in Uganda
future calendar district events local events