Guide to Truro


About Truro

Truro is the administrative centre for Cornwall. The name stems from the Cornish "Tri veru" meaning three rivers. During the 14th Century Truro was a port and one of the 5 "stannary" towns of Cornwall.

In 1876 the Diocese of Truro was created and in the following year, the first Bishop was appointed and Queen Victoria granted Truro its city status.

The foundations of the Cathedral were laid in 1880 but the Cathedral was not complete until 30 years later. It has recently undergone a major refurbishment.