Year 2020-2021

President Roger Hall’s year

The Rotary Club of West Fife met on Zoom including incoming President Roger Hall watching in the garden of outgoing President Brian Mitchell.

The official handover of the sanitized President's chain of office was a strange physically distance event at the end of the meeting.

Roger Hall (74)  moved to Dunfermline in 2006 having spent most of his early life in Kettering, Northamptonshire.  He attended the town's Grammar School, before graduating to Leicester College of Art and Design (now de Montford University) to study Architecture.

He qualified from there in 1971, going on to work for a number of private Architectural practices in the London area. A nine year spell with London Transport's Architects' Department from 1978, involved in the refurbishment of a number of central London Underground stations, was followed by setting up his own practice with an Architect friend. "

He continued to work within the transport sector, as well as on more diverse projects. The practice was amicably dissolved in 2006, after which Roger became a sole practitioner, prior to semi retirement in 2017. His last three years were spent doing consultancy work for Transport for London.

When Roger moved to Dunfermline he maintained a presence in St Albans commuting to the town where he had lived since 1981.  Two years later the Luton born architect married a young lady from Glenrothes, hence the Scottish connection. They have two daughters, both now in their 20s. He joined the Rotary Club of West Fife around five years after the family moved to Scotland, where he now lives full time.

The club's new President Elect Douglas Scott also received his official badge in a similar physically distanced manner.

Related pages...

Past Presidents

more List of all Past Presidents of the Rotary Club of West Fife


Years 1978-80

more The first two years

Year 1980-81

more President John A (Ian) Miller


Year 1981-82

more President Roy Petrie's year

Year 1982-83

more President Ken Mackay's Year


Year 1983-84

more President Brian Forrester's Year

Year 1984-85

more President Brian Merrett's Year

Year 1985-86

more President Ken Young’s year

Year 1986-87

more President John Haywood's Year

David was a founder member of the Club and served as Secretary from 1982 to 1986.

Year 1987-88

more President David Forbes’ year

Year 1988-89

more President Sandy Paton's year

Year 1989-90

more President Ian Borland's year in office

Year 1990-91

more President Mike Heap's year

Year 1991-92

more President Tom Pettigrew's year

Year 1992-93

more President Stuart Nicol's Year

Year 1993-94

more President Douglas Scott's Year

Year 1994-95

more President Robin Grant's Year

Year 1996-1997

more President Dave Riddell’s year

Year 2003-04

more President Matt McVicars, watch slideshow of images from this Rotary year

Year 2004-05

more President Donald MacKay's year. Watch slideshow of images from this Rotary year

Year 2005-06

more President Ken Richards year

Year 2006-07

more President Ian Grieve’s year. Click through to view slideshow of the year

Year 2007-08

more President Ed Scott's year

Year 2008-09

more President Neil Spriddle's Year

Year 2009-10

more President George Primrose's year

Year 2010-11

more President Greig Hill's year.

Year 2011-12

more Alan Farquharson: Club President for Rotary Year 2011-12

Year 2012-13

more President Robert Haig's year

Year 2013-14

more Donald MacKay became first member to take the chair twice

Year 2014-15

more President Ewan Archibald’s year

Year 2015-16

more Alex Evan Wong returns to be President for a second time

Year 2016-17

more Dave Riddell's second time around as club president

Year 2017-18

more President Neil Spriddle took the chair nine years after his first term

Year 2018-19

more President John Stirling for second time around

Year 2019-2020

more President Brian Mitchell's year

Year 2021-2022

more President Douglas returned to office after a break of 28 years

back to page above this...

Club Archives