Youth Awards

Bromley’s Young People rise to the challenge of Covid but no red carpet this year!

Bromley Rotary Youth Awards 2020/21

Press Release

Bromley’s Young People rise to the challenge of Covid

But no red carpet this year!

For the last five years Bromley Rotary have rolled out the red carpet at a grand awards ceremony for the young people of Bromley. This is to recognise and celebrate those young men and women aged 11 to 18, who have made an outstanding contribution to the lives of family, neighbours, the community and the world at large.

In normal times cameras clicked, family and friends applauded and citations were read out as Bromley’s Mayor chatted with and presented certificates and awards to around thirty proud young people.

But these are not normal times. So the big celebration had to be cancelled. However nearly fifty nominations were received from fourteen of Bromley’s secondary schools and 28 boys and girls were judged winners with a further 16 commended. Some of these are young carers looking after sick parents or siblings, others have consistently raised money, baked cakes, walked miles for local and national charities – and many have this year volunteered to help neighbours and strangers affected by Covid 19.

Councillor Hannah Gray, Mayor of Bromley has written to all winners and sorely misses seeing them personally to congratulate them. They will now receive the letter, a certificate and a Glades voucher via their school.

Bromley Rotary aims to be back with the awards programme this autumn and rolling out the red carpet again in January 2022.

This year’s winners were: Jasper Brooks, Spencer Ciloglu, Reagan Dane-Josiah, Micol Febles, Philippa George, Leela Gerwat, Yaneena Gerwat, George Greenwood, Imogen Gush, Max Lorberg, Alex Martinez, Jack Maslin, David Mulamba, Jasmin Nancekivell-Smith, William Ndibe, Joseph Newton, Maxime Ocampo, George O'Connor, Harriet Paulding, Millie Richardson, Eva Ruby,Bishal Shrestha, Emily Taylor, Louise Taylor, Morenikeji Tomori, Devon Tulloch, Rio Tulloch, Jessica Wilcox.

They come from the following schools: Bishop Justus C of E, Bromley High, Darrick Wood, Charles Darwin, Eden Park High, Farringtons, Harris Academy Beckenham, Langley Park School for Boys, Newstead Wood, The Ravensbourne School, and St Olave’s Grammar School.

Here are some of individual contributions that some of the younger winners have made:

“took food to vulnerable families and those who relied on free school meals during term time”

“helps look after her mother and younger siblings. Mum has MS”

“during lock-down kept his street entertained with his saxophone playing”

“ran a marathon raising £7000 for a neonatal care unit  at King’s College Hospital”

“provides fantastic support for his cousin who is non-verbal autistic”

“raised money for foodbanks and Shelter by doing daily walks with her hair dyed different colours every day”