Young Musician 2017

Fleet Rotary Young Musician Competition 2017 encourages local students
Seven young musicians and vocalists aged 14-16 from Calthorpe Park and St Nicholas’ School took part in the competition on January 21st 2017 which was organised by Fleet Rotary as part of their programme to assist and encourage young people in the local community

The solo instrumentalist winner for the second year running, was Sophie Dean from Calthorpe Park with her 3 piano pieces composed by Brahms, Chopin and Handel. The instrumentalist runner up was violin player Rosie-May Kennedy from St Nicholas’ School. The solo vocalist category was won for the second year by Jennifer Lawrence from St Nicholas School with songs composed by Jobim ( The Girl from Ipanema) ,Gam and Purcell, closely followed by Ellen Pigott also from St  Nicholas’ School. The winners go on to the Rotary District final being held on 26th February

The event took place in St Nicholas’ school hall by kind permission of Headmistress Mrs A Whatmough. Adjudicators were Toby Coles, Beryl Holmes and Steve Petch, all well known in local music circles. Judging was on a number of factors including melodic accuracy, tone, tempo and character. Feedback by Toby Coles on each performance included phrases such as ‘difficult to judge, fantastic music, invaluable skills for life, follow the musical bridge, don’t be discouraged, a hard-to-sing programme, stylish and lovely noise’. The event was presented by Mrs Virginia Pearson

Club President John Johnstone said, ‘We’re delighted with the high standard of responses to this  venture which we have organised for a second year. Rotary offers 7 young people’s competitions and our Young Chef, Youth Speaks, Young Writer and Young Leaders programmes are well established, as is the next event in the calendar, Young Photographer ,which takes place during February. Those who wish to enter should do so through their school by 10th February. Finally I’d like to record our special thanks to the musical accompanists Ben Point from St Nicholas’ and Ross Walker from Calthorpe for their dedication in spending  many hours, encouraging young musicians to persevere in their respective schools ”

In each photograph the winner / runner up is shown with Toby Coles, the Head Adjudicator.

1.Instrumentalist winner Sophie Dean ( Calthorpe)

2.Instrumentalist runner up Rosie-May Kennedy( St Nics)

3. Vocalist winner Jenny Lawrence ( St Nics)

4. Vocalist runner up. Ellen Pigott ( St Nics)

Press release from last year - 2016

Young Musician 16-1-16

Geoff SumnerContact Geoff Sumner about this page:

(ALL fields required)

(If you are a Rotarian, please name your club.)