Introduction to our current President


         Club  President 2018/2019  John Robini

            A message from President John 


 Rotary Club of Haslemere President 2018/19 -  John Robini

I was born in Chobham, near Woking in 1948, attending the local schools until I left at 16 years old. I was then apprenticed at The RAE Farnborough, attending Farnborough college. I finished my apprenticeship as a toolmaker and draftsman.  As the aircraft industry was closing down, I went into the retail trade becoming a manager of a gentleman's outfitters. I married and decided I needed a change of career again, so joined Surrey Police in 1972. I started at Guildford, then moved to Haslemere and Witley. During my career I attended many incidents including the Guildford bombings, miner's strike, inner city riots and many more.

I then decided prevention was better than reaction and I spent many years as a Crime Reduction and Design Advisor for Surrey Police. This included writing regularly for the press, television interviews and regular radio programmes.

I retired in 2002 and stayed on as a civilian in the same role until 20015.

As a civilian I was able to be involved in Politics and was Chairman of Witley Parish Council then elected as a Borough Councilor on Waverley, where I spent 4 years on the executive with various portfolios. During this time my wife Jacquie was Mayor of Waverley and I was her consort.

I have 2 children, Karen and Janet. I was sadly widowed in 2000, and I am now married to Jacquie Keen living locally in Haslemere.

My Hobbies are, Photography, Walking, Gardening, Genealogy, and local politics.



 Scroll Down for Past Presidents Listing                                          


1935/37    JH Edwards                
1937/38    AG Whitcher
1938/39    HM Salmon
1939/40    HGS Peck
1940/41    LL Hamilton
1941/42    HE Dudeney
1942/43    EJ Blaker
1943/44    C Teale
1944/45    LA Harrison
1945/46    FC Brown
1946/47    RH Turk
1947/48    WD Walker
1948/49    FD Huntingford
1949/51    RJ Bolton
1951/52    BT Freeman
1952/53    RC Stephenson
1953/54    DP Lawson
1954/55    HF Price
1955/56    CI Cox
1956/57    VC Lilly
1957/58    CJ Wother
1958/59    PEJ Bargery
1959/60    HP Dubber
1960/61    LG Vine / SR Gibson
1961/62    HS Mason
1962/63    PG Madgwick
1963/64    FL Huntingford
1964/65    AJ Douglas
1965/66    MM Reese
1966/67    AN Fergus
1967/68    RD Reynolds
1968/69    LD Nicholls
1969/70    HE Cook
1970/71    GM Sykes
1971/72    WR Bleach
1972/73    JA Broughall
1973/74    R Milton
1974/75    AF Coombes
1975/76    L Anning
1976/77    FM Hodges-Roper
1977/78    EL Taylor
1978/79    DS Boxell
1979/80    GG Harris
1980/81    JR Berrow
1981/82    PW Smith
1982/83    JP Hollins
1983/84    A Bryne
1984/85    P Leete
1985/86    RJ Coleman
1986/87    P Charman
1987/88    WE Lewis
1988/89    C Brooks
1989/90    T Gittins
1990/91    MJ Gillet
1991/92    Leo Cash
1992/93    Ewart Rice
1993/94    Mike Jones
1994/95    John Smith
1995/96    Alan Paynter
1996/97    Tim Shepherd
1997/98    Mike Cowan
1998/99    Alan Wylam
1999/00   Graham Cook
2000/01    Robert Pullen
2001/02    Ray Hagger
2002/03    Martin Mustart
2003/04    Frank Chalstrey
2004/05    Rae Boxall
2005/06    John Peterson
2006/07     Jackie Gaskell
2007/08    Steve Lovell
2008/09    Gordon Exeter
2009/10    John Patrick
2010/11     Rae Boxall
2011/12     Ray Hagger
2012/13     Leonard Bate
2013/14     Yvonne Mayer
2014/15    Rob Terry

2016/17   Roy Wylam

2017/18  Jenny Mason