Completed meetings and events 2015-2016

Wed 29th June 2016 Steak and bowls at the Grove in Leominster

Enjoying the company We enjoyed our regular and enjoyable evening of steak and chips plus a game of bowls for £10... read more...

Mon 27th June 2016 We donate a laptop to a childrens charity in Uganda

With the help of Di Cosgrove from Red Earth education based in Uganda.... read more...

Wed 22nd June 2016 Dinner and AGM/Assembly at the Baron

Tonight we welcomed AG Christina Thorpe and discussed past events and future plans. read more...

Fri 17th June 2016 Kirsty Williams supports Knighton Men's Shed

We welcomed Kirsty as she attended our presentation of £500 to the Knighton Men's Shed read more...

Wed 15th June 2016 Lunch meeting at the Red Lion in Knighton TBC

As our usual venue does not cater for our lunch meetings we will be lunching, for the first time as a club, at the Red Lion in Knighton. read more...

Wed 8th June 2016 Evening meeting at the Baron in Bucknell

NOTE CHANGE OF TIME FROM LUNCH TO EVENING!

Wed 1st June 2016 Council at 6 meal at 7.15 at the Baron

Wed 25th May 2016 Dinner and speaker Sue Lewis at the Baron

Tonight we welcome Sue Lewis who told us about interesting holidays abroad!" Life in Travel" read more...

Thu 19th May 2016 Pizza and bowls at the Grove, Leominster

This was another enjoyable evening with good food, good company..... read more...

Wed 18th May 2016 Lunch meeting cancelled due to bowling Thursday

We have cancelled this meeting to replace it with pizza and bowls at the Grove tomorrow night.....

Wed 11th May 2016 Lunch meeting at the Jones's with speaker Bill HIgginson

As well as enjoying our informal lunch at Ivan and Cathy's home in Wigmore, we will be welcoming Bill Higginson to talk about the Disabled Cricketers charity...... read more...

Wed 4th May 2016 Council at 6 meal at 7.15 at the Baron

Wed 27th April 2016 Dinner & speaker from Marches Family network at the Baron

The Marches Family network holds playdays for disabled children and provide respite for carers....... read more...

Thu 21st April 2016 WE PUT UP A GOOD FIGHT AT THE NEXT DISTRICT QUIZ ROUND

We met Blackwood Rotary Club at Erwood and were pipped to the post...... read more...

Wed 20th April 2016 WE DONATE TO PRESTEIGNE & NORTON COMMUNITY SUPPORT

The money will help train volunteers to PAT test electrical equipment. read more...

Wed 20th April 2016 Lunch meeting cancelled....

because of the visit to the Freemasons on Tuesday 19th and the District Quiz on Thursday 21st.... read more...

Tue 19th April 2016 WE VISIT THE KNIGHTON FREEMASONS, THE KNIGHTON HOTEL

We were invited to a Knighton Freemasons meeting and shared knowledge of service organisations.... read more...

Fri 15th April 2016 WE ENJOY A POETRY AND PUDS EVENING AT GALLERY HOUSE

As an enjoyable fundraiser we shared poetry prose and puddings and raised £153.... read more...

Wed 13th April 2016 Lunch meeting cancelled....

...due to our Poetry and Puddings evening on Friday 15th.....

Wed 6th April 2016 Council at 6 meal at 7.15 at the Baron

Wed 30th March 2016 Steak and bowls at the Grove in Leominster

General view of our crowd... This is the fifth Wednesday of the month and we enjoyed a social evening at the Grove.... read more...

Wed 23rd March 2016 Dinner and speaker David Dutson at the Baron

David with a community model LIfestraw Tonight we welcomed David Dutson to tell us about the charity Lifestraws - providing fresh water to those in need.... read more...

Wed 16th March 2016 Lunch meeting Venue TBC

Wed 9th March 2016 Lunch meeting at Ffrydd House Knighton

Sun 6th March 2016 We help "Clean for the Queen"

Dorothy, Adam, Bruce and Norman help clear rubbish from Kinnersley Wood near Knighton. read more...

Wed 2nd March 2016 Council at 6 meal at 7.15 at the Baron

Wed 24th February 2016 Dinner and social evening at the Baron

No speaker tonight so we'll tell a few jokes and enjoy each others company!

Fri 19th February 2016 Family Quiz and Supper at the Baron

Another of Paul's enjoyable and challenging quizzes, with lasagne and chips for supper and a little money raised.... read more...

Wed 17th February 2016 Lunch meeting cancelled....

.....due to our quiz on Friday....

Wed 10th February 2016 Lunch meeting at Ffrydd House Knighton

ANOTHER ENJOYABLE LUNCH AT FFRYDD HOUSE!
read more...

Tue 9th February 2016 We win the Area final of the District Quiz

We met Abertillary Rotary Club in Crickhowell for this show down! read more...

Wed 3rd February 2016 Council at 6 meal at 7.15 at the Baron

Wed 27th January 2016 Dinner and speaker at the Baron

Tonight we welcomed Andrew Catling from the Wales Air Ambulance to speak to us.... read more...

Wed 20th January 2016 Frugal lunch at Ian and Carolyn's Bucknell home

We enjoyed a simple lunch of soup and bread with all money raised going towards our charitable efforts worldwide..... read more...

Fri 15th January 2016 Quiz team supports Classrooms in the Clouds

and we won! read more...

Wed 13th January 2016 Lunch meeting at Ffrydd House Knighton

Wed 6th January 2016 Council at 6 meal at 7.15 at Gallery House, Leintwardine

As the Baron closed for two weeks, Kim and Sheila kindly offered to host tonight's meeting.... read more...

Wed 30th December 2015 No meeting - getting ready for 2016

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Wed 23rd December 2015 No meeting - Christmas celebrations await

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

Wed 16th December 2015 Evening Christmas Meal at the Stagg Inn, Titley

We enjoyed our annual Christmas meal with home spun entertainment and music including ( slightly out of tune ) carols read more...

Tue 15th December 2015 We donate French Dictionaries....

....to the 10 children who travelled to Ligne on an twinning visit. read more...

Fri 11th December 2015 - Sat 12th December 2015 Christmas collection for local charities

We will be collecting for local charities at Tuffins in Knighton and Presteigne High Street this weekend.

Wed 9th December 2015 Rotarian golfers Christmas lunch at the Portway Inn

This is the first of our Christmas lunches to celebrate all things golfing as well as enjoying Rotary friendships read more...

Wed 2nd December 2015 Council at 6 meal at 7.15 at the Baron

Sun 29th November 2015 Rotary Young Musician Concert St Edwards Church Hall Knighton

Competitors, judges and accompanist..... We judged our round of the Young Musician competition today in front of a small local audience. read more...

Wed 25th November 2015 Dinner and District Quiz at the Baron

We met Bryn Mawr Rotary Club tonight in the second round of the District Quiz. read more...

Fri 20th November 2015 Family Quiz and Supper at the Baron

Another one of Paul's excellent quizzes with lasagne and chips.... read more...

Wed 18th November 2015 Lunch meeting cancelled due to quiz Friday

Cancelled due to our friendly family quiz on Friday

Wed 11th November 2015 Lunch meeting at Ffrydd House Knighton

Wed 4th November 2015 Council at 6 meal at 7.15 at the Baron

Wed 28th October 2015 Dinner and speaker at the Baron

We welcomed retired EU interpreters Elisabeth and Terry this evening.... read more...

Fri 23rd October 2015 Rotary's World Polio Day February 23rd

We will be raising money for the End Polio Now programme which has reduced polio incidence from 148 cases last year to 37 this year. read more...

Wed 21st October 2015 Lunch meeting at the Castle Inn, Wigmore

We had lunch this week at this pub in Wigmore read more...

Wed 14th October 2015 Lunch meeting at Ffrydd House Knighton

Any urgent business will be covered today due to last week's cancelled meeting.

Sun 11th October 2015 VSCC car rally parking at Cwm Whitton

We supported the VSCC as well as raising money for the many charities we support. read more...

Wed 7th October 2015 This meeting is cancelled due to Rotary trip away

Due to the President and a number of other members being in Madrid this week, this meeting has been cancelled

Mon 5th October 2015 - Fri 9th October 2015 Club members outing to Madrid 4.10.15

Spanish experience 11 of our members travelled to Madrid for a few days of good food and culture read more...

Wed 30th September 2015 Steak and Bowls evening at the Grove

Dave basking in glory.... This is a fifth Wednesday in the month and we had a sociable evening of good food, good company and fun bowling! read more...

Wed 23rd September 2015 President's evening at the Riverside Inn, Aymestry

Tonight we enjoyed an evening of homespun entertainment as we celebrate our charter evening and Dorothy's presidency read more...

Wed 16th September 2015 Lunch meeting cancelled

...because of our District Quiz round at Erwood yesterday Tuesday 15th....hope to see you there.

Tue 15th September 2015 First round of the District Quiz at Erwood

The two teams plus quiz master Chris from Crickhowell. ...when we were up against Abergavenney Rotary Club read more...

Wed 9th September 2015 Lunch meeting at Ffrydd House Knighton

DG Chris with President Dorothy on his right, wife Brenda on the left... when we welcomed our DG Chris Williams and wife Brenda. read more...

Sat 5th September 2015 Bucknell Show burger stall

Ian and Carolyn spearheaded this fundraiser..... read more...

Wed 2nd September 2015 Council at 6 meal at 7.15 at the Baron

Dorothy handing Christine the tools of the trade We were very pleased to welcome Christine Price as the latest member of our vibrant club.... read more...

Sat 29th August 2015 Knighton Show stall

We manned a Rotary stall at this local event to raise a little money for our charitable efforts read more...

Wed 26th August 2015 Frugal lunch at Peter and Mary Grey's home 28.8.15

Many thanks Peter and Mary We had another enjoyable frugal lunch on the Grey's farm in the hills of Shropshire with good food and a few fun activities! read more...

Wed 19th August 2015 Evening meeting at the Baron 7.15 for 7.30pm

Due to our lunch meeting at the Grey's next week we are having our evening meeting tonight......

Sat 15th August 2015 - Sun 16th August 2015 Aardvark Civil War Re-entactment

Ivan, Martin and Bruce promoting Rotary and helping out.... We helped with car parking at this excellent event and raised money for our chosen charities..... read more...

Wed 12th August 2015 Lunch meeting cancelled.....

due to Saturday's event....

Wed 5th August 2015 Council at 6 meal at 7.15 at the Baron

Wed 29th July 2015 Steak and bowls at the Grove

President Dorothy with Chris and Sheila.... This was another of our enjoyable steak and bowls evenings read more...

Wed 22nd July 2015 7.15 for 7.30pm Speaker and dinner at the Baron

Dorothy welcomes Bruce... Tonight member Bruce Morgan told us of his life as a judge read more...

Sun 19th July 2015 Ludlow Fun Dog Day

We helped Ludlow Rotary Club steward this event.....and raise a little for our charitable efforts read more...

Wed 15th July 2015 Frugal lunch at Ivan and Cathy Jones's home

This was another very enjoyable afternoon of "frugality" and banter in the Jones's lovely house and garden.... read more...

Sat 11th July 2015 Aardvark Food Fair

We were stewards at this event and raised a little money for our chosen charities. read more...

Wed 8th July 2015 12.45 for 1pm Lunch at Ffrydd House, Knighton

Wed 1st July 2015 7.15 for 7.30pm Club handover at the Baron

Tonight we saw Sheila become "past it" and Dorothy become President and Queen Bee! read more...
future calendar district events local events