Young Employee of the Year 2016 - Awards Ceremony 7th March

The prize-giving ceremony for Young Employee of the Year 2016 was held on Monday 7 March 12:30-14:00 at the Beaumont Hotel, Hexham, hosted by Stephen Middleton, President of Rotary Club of Hexham

The competition is organised by the Rotary Club of Hexham with generous sponsorship from Hexham Town Council and Hexham Business Forum.

The aim of the competition is to recognise and reward employees, aged 25 or under at the start of the year, who are making an outstanding contribution to their organisation. The competition was publicised through the Hexham Business Forum and through personal contact. Suitable employees were nominated by their employers.

There were 12 entrants this year, a significant increase on recent years. All were interviewed at the Beaumont Hotel on Thursday 25 February. The standard was very high and the interview panel (Nick Rossiter (Leader Vocational Team, Rotary Club of Hexham), Trevor Cessford (Mayor, Hexham Town Council), Michael Crick (Vocational Team, Rotary Club of Hexham)) had a difficult task in selecting winners.

We were flexible in our view of what constituted an outstanding employee, looking for talents such as drive, energy, ability to gain qualifications and momentum going forward. We also, of course, considered the evidence supplied by their employer.

Because of the high standard, the 8 nominations who did not receive prizes have been awarded Commended certificates.

The 4 prize winners are:

1st= Winner of Jack Charlton Trophy, donated by the Rotary Club of Hexham

Rachel Gillie (Fentimans, makers of traditional natural botanical drinks)

Cheque for £250 from Rotary Club of Hexham, presented by Stephen Middleton (President of Rotary Club of Hexham)

Nominated and supported today by Tiffany McKirdy (Operations Director)

1st= Winner of JB Jonas Trophy, donated by Hexham Town Council

Robert Ford (Forum Cinema, run by the Hexham Community Partnership)

Cheque for £250 from Hexham Town Council, presented by Trevor Cessford (Mayor of Hexham)

Nominated by Tamsin Beevor (Partnership Manager) and supported today by Lucy Wilkinson

3rd= Highly Commended

Sarah Pigg (Youngs RPS, chartered surveyors and property consultants)

£50 from Hexham Business Forum, presented by Wendy Best (Secretary, Hexham Business Forum)

Nominated by Robbie Hutchinson (Director) and supported today by Kim Harrison (Valuer)


3rd= Highly Commended

Alex Whittemore (BT Bell, consulting engineers)

£50 from Hexham Business Forum, presented by Wendy Best (Secretary, Hexham Business Forum)

Nominated by Brian Bell (Engineer and Director) and supported today by Andrew Laidler (Engineer)

A report on the ceremony and a group photograph has been published by the Hexham Courant at p.18 in the issue for 11 March 2016.

(ALL fields required)

(If you are a Rotarian, please name your club.)