Year 2006-07

President Ian Grieve’s year. Click through to view slideshow of the year

Ian Grieve, a Rotarian for 26 years, is the new President of the Rotary Club of West Fife. He was born and educated in Dundee at Morgan Academy.

Following his training as an efficiency expert he held a number of management roles with James Keiller & Son Chocolate and Confectionery Manufactures prior to moving to Dunfermline in 1969 when he joined Arthur Bell & Sons, Scotch Whisky Distillers in a management role.

Within a few years and after discovering he had the "Nose" for it he was appointed Bells Master Blender and Whisky Operations Manager, also creating a number of new blended whiskies "Bell`s Islander" being one of them. Following the take over of Bells by Guinness now Diageo Ian in his role as Master Blender and with his love of travelling spent a great deal of time travelling the world on speaking tours helping to promote the Diageo brands particularly Johnnie Walker the worlds number one Scotch. 

After thirty-one years in the whisky business Ian retired in 2000.He retains an involvement with the Spirits industry with his role as Chairman of the International Spirits Challenge the premier international spirits industry competition.

He is married to Jennifer a former school teacher with one son Ross who manages one of the UK's leading five Red Star hotels. A former Chairman of Dunfermline Round Table his hobbies are Golf, travelling and seeing new places and the Arts. During his year as President he aims to continue with the high traditions of the West Fife club helping it to make a difference in the local, national and international communities where help is needed. 

Related pages...


Years 1978-80

more The first two years

Year 1980-81

more President John A (Ian) Miller


Year 1981-82

more President Roy Petrie's year

Year 1982-83

more President Ken Mackay's Year


Year 1983-84

more President Brian Forrester's Year

Year 1984-85

more President Brian Merrett's Year

Year 1985-86

more President Ken Young’s year

Year 1986-87

more President John Haywood's Year

David was a founder member of the Club and served as Secretary from 1982 to 1986.

Year 1987-88

more President David Forbes’ year

Year 1988-89

more President Sandy Paton's year

Year 1989-90

more President Ian Borland's year in office

Year 1990-91

more President Mike Heap's year

Year 1991-92

more President Tom Pettigrew's year

Year 1992-93

more President Stuart Nicol's Year

Year 1993-94

more President Douglas Scott's Year

Year 1994-95

more President Robin Grant's Year

Year 1996-1997

more President Dave Riddell’s year

Year 2003-04

more President Matt McVicars, watch slideshow of images from this Rotary year

Year 2004-05

more President Donald MacKay's year. Watch slideshow of images from this Rotary year

Year 2005-06

more President Ken Richards year

Year 2007-08

more President Ed Scott's year

Year 2008-09

more President Neil Spriddle's Year

Year 2009-10

more President George Primrose's year

Year 2010-11

more President Greig Hill's year.

Year 2011-12

more Alan Farquharson: Club President for Rotary Year 2011-12

Year 2012-13

more President Robert Haig's year

Year 2013-14

more Donald MacKay became first member to take the chair twice

Year 2014-15

more President Ewan Archibald’s year

Year 2015-16

more Alex Evan Wong returns to be President for a second time

Year 2016-17

more Dave Riddell's second time around as club president

Year 2017-18

more President Neil Spriddle took the chair nine years after his first term

Year 2018-19

more President John Stirling for second time around

Year 2019-2020

more President Brian Mitchell's year

Year 2020-2021

more President Roger Hall’s year

Year 2021-2022

more President Douglas returned to office after a break of 28 years

back to page above this...

Club Archives