Opportunity Walks 2008 (Supporters & Sponsors)

Wed, Sep 10th 2008 at 12:00 am - 2:00 am

A thank you to our Supporters


Opportunity Walks 2008

Supporters and Sponsors 

Opportunity Walks 2008 has received sponsorship and support from a wide range of local business and Organisations both public and private.  The Rotary Club of Gourock wishes thank and recognise those that gave support because it was only with you that the day turned out to be a great success.  In particular the assistance given by the members of the Rotary Club of Greenock was greatly appreciated. 

This event was a sponsored charity walk by the primary school children to raise funs for the development of children's facilities in the proposed new Greenock Arts Center.  The event has raised significant funding to help develop children's facilities in the new center.  This sponsored walk in the Battery Park received the support of over 900 primary 6 school children from local Inverclyde schools. 

The sponsors included :- 

IBM                                           Barry McGuigan

National Semiconductor             Gemma McEwan

T-Mobile                                     Debbie Rodgers


Funworld                                  Douglas Brands, Sharon Murdoch


Morton Football Club                Alan McManus, Dave McGregor and Liam Kerrigan


Glens Coaches                           George Bryce

Pride O' The Clyde Coaches      George Findlay

Scottish Travel                           Robert Wilson

JJ's Coaches                              Jim Perry

McGills Buses                            Bert Hendry


Supporting the Event Included :-


Scottish Minister                        Minister for Europe, External Affairs and Culture

                                                Linda Fabiani MSP


Inverclyde Council                     Depute Provost Charlie McCallum


The Greenock Arts Guild           John Phillips, Elliott McKelvie, Brian Gavin


Strathclyde Police                      Inspector Charlie Paul


Greater Glasgow &                   Scott Bryson

Clyde Public Health


Caledon                                    Jamie MacDougall, Ivan Sharpe and Alan Beck


Inverclyde Leisure                     Jim Lyons


Active Schools                          Several individuals were involved and gave support.


Music For Youth                       Several individuals were involved and gave support.

Related pages...

Young Musicians Competition


The One and Only John Pow

Charity Exhibition at Seagull Gallery


All the contestants

Young Musican's 2007


Rotary Craft, Design and Creative Writing


Young Musicians Competition 2008


 Some of the Club Memebers supporting the event.

Opportunity Walks 2008 The Support


 President Norman Pettigrew with the first children to arrive.

Opportunity Walks 2008 The Children


 The Arts Guild Civic Reception for

Opportunity Walks The Civic Reception


Gourock Primary School

Opportunity Walks 2008 The Sponsors


Young Musicians Competition


Ian Macnaughton


A surprise night at Ramada Jarvis


Tom Findlay with stand in Norman Pettigrew

Mercy Ships Tom Findlay


John McGinty, David Hendry, John McLeod

David B. Hendry


Gourock Rotary Young Musicians Contestants 2007

Young Musicians


The Lighter Side of the Law Sylvia Kelly


Scottish International Rescue. Francis O,Donnell


Ritchie Foulds


Ian Godsman


Kamesh Mathur


Jane Cox


Christopher Duffy & President Norman Pettigrew

Christopher Duffy Member of the Scottish Youth Parliament


Robert Low with President Norman

The Vikings


Alan Beck & President Norman Pettigrew

An Evening of Memories and Song


President Norman Pettigrew with Bob Webster

A Talk by Rotarian Bob Webster


Vice President Jane Cox

Young Musicians Competition


District International Service Chair Bob Ross with President Norman Pettigrew

Bob Ross giving an International Service update.


"Opportunity Walks 2008" (The Walk)

more The Walk

Opportunity Walks 2008 Arts Guild Civic Reception

more Inverclyde Council Civic Reception Arts Guild Opportunity Walks.

Shane Cracknell our first contestant,

Young Musicians' Competition

more The Competitors

Donald Ritchie, Brian Keachie and Robert Corkell

Young Musicians Competition

more The Adjudicators

Chairman of Adjudicators Brian Keachie

Young Musicians' Competition

more The Competition Report

Vice President Jane Cox & Convener of the Youth Opportunities Committee

Council Meeting 12/02/2009


back to page above this...

Youth Activities Committee