Young Writer Competition

The Rotary Club of Whitby & District is pleased to announce the winners of the Young Writer Competition 2021/22

The Rotary Club of Whitby & District is pleased to announce the winners of the Young Writer Competition 2021/22

Local young writers aged 7-17 years were challenged to produce a piece of fiction or non-fiction, story or poem, relating to the theme ‘Environment’. 

The competition is designed to support and encourage the development of writing skills. The judges were impressed by the quality of entries submitted and it was clear that local young people have a strong environmental awareness.

A big thank you to the volunteers from the Whitby Community that judged the competition: -

Local author Jenny Hesketh; Whitby Town Mayor Linda Wild; June Young; Janet Peake; Geraldine Malone; Angela Verrill; and Ian Kirchner-Waines from North Yorkshire Youth.

Competition winners will be given book tokens as prizes and all entrants will receive a certificate in recognition of their achievements.

Castleton Community Primary School submitted the most entries to the competition and will receive a prize of £100 to spend on library books.

7-10 years

1st – Millie Parry - to read Millie's entry click here.

2nd – Belle Lunn - to read Belle's entry click here.

Joint 3rd - Matilda Fusco- to read Matilda's entry click here. 

                - Daniel Thompson - to read Daniel's entry click here.

Highly Commended – Rosie Kevan, Emily Beadnall, Lara Telling, Megan Fusco, Isabelle Greenwood, Betsy Wooster, Jack Day, Molly Tindall,Thomas Tindall and Charlie Gray. Emily and Charlie, the youngest Highly Commended entrants, will receive a special prize donated by The Works in Baxtergate.

11-13 years

1st – Ellen Hall - to read Ellen's entry click here.

Joint 2nd - Skye Telling - to read Skye's entry click here.

                 - Ellie Walsh - to read Ellie's entry click here.

                 - Maddie Pearson - to read Maddie's entry click here.

Highly Commended – Faith Bailey, Romy White, Keiron Sparks, Katy Crossland, Tallulah Hartley, Evangeline Campbell, Rohan Fitzgerald, Ellie Horton, Kirby Locker, Lillia Easton and Isabella Emerson.

14-17 years

1st – Georgina Glaysher - to read Georgina's entry click here.

The winning entries will now go forward to take part in the Regional Final and if successful will then compete in the National Final of the Rotary Young Writer Competition 2021/22.

'What We Do' Main Pages:

Octoberfest is a fun afternoon of races for primary schools and has become a regular event.


Run every year, this is one of our major events for schools.


Who are we and what do we do?