Completed meetings and events 2017-2018

Wed 20th June 2018 Club Council Meeting

To be held in the Dolphin Room at RWYC

Mon 18th June 2018 Speaker is Imogen Napper

Imogen is a PhD student researching the effects of plastic pollution within the marine environment. read more...

Mon 28th May 2018 No meeting today - Bank Holiday

No meeting

Wed 16th May 2018 Club Council Meeting

To be held in the Dolphin Room at RWYC

Mon 14th May 2018 Speaker - David Radar

David's topic is Theodore Roosevelt

Mon 7th May 2018 No meeting today - Bank Holiday

No meeting

Mon 30th April 2018 Visit to Derriford Research Centre

Visit has been arranged with the Peninsula Medical Foundation. It will be followed by supper at the Jack Rabbit.

Mon 23rd April 2018 Speaker Matais Shortcook

Matais is an Associate Dean, Pre Degree at the Plymouth College of Art.

Wed 18th April 2018 Club Council Meeting

To be held in the Dolphin Room at RWYC

Mon 16th April 2018 Speaker Andrew Welch

Andrew's topic is Dartmouth to Islamabad

Mon 9th April 2018 Speaker TBA

TBA

Mon 2nd April 2018 No meeting - Easter Monday

Being Easter there is no meeting today.

Mon 26th March 2018 Club Council Meeting

To be held in the Dolphin Room at RWYC

Wed 21st March 2018 Club Council Meeting

To be held in the Dolphin Room at RWYC

Mon 19th March 2018 Speaker - Murray Chapman

Murray's topic is 'The Battle of the Dockyards'.

Mon 12th March 2018 Visit of the Lord Mayor and Consort, Councillor Wendy Foster & Councillor Ken Foster



Mon 5th March 2018 Speakers are PDG Ralph Curr and Michael Ward

Their topic is 'Centre for the Rehabilitation of Paralysed (CRP) in Bangladesh.

Mon 26th February 2018 speaker - Ron Smith

Ron's topic is 'The Breakwater'.

Mon 19th February 2018 Speaker - John Lamerton

John's topic is 'Big Ideas for Small Businesses.'

Mon 12th February 2018 Speaker - Iain Colquhoun

Iain's topic is Mercy Ships.

Mon 5th February 2018 Speaker -Mac Forsyth

His topic is Project Malawi, President divide's chosen charity for his year.

Mon 22nd January 2018 Speakers on 22 JAN 2018 are 2 liaison officers from FOST.

There will also be a report on the Club council meeting held on 17th January.

Wed 17th January 2018 Club Council Meeting

Meeting to be held in Dolphin Room at RWYC.

Wed 17th January 2018 Community Committee Meeting

The committee will meet in Dolphin Room at the RWYC.

Mon 15th January 2018 Speaker will be Clive Jenkins.

His topic is Plymouth Music Accord.

Wed 10th January 2018 International Committee meeting

To be held at the Hakka, Southside Street.

Tue 2nd January 2018 District Skittles Competition

In this round our competitors are the Yelverton Club. In a contest that became extremely close we managed to hold on to our lead and win by a mere 2 points.
An excellent evening of fun & friendship enjoyed by both teams.

Mon 18th December 2017 Annual Christmas lunch & raffle.

Spouses, partners and friends are invited to this festive occasion.

Mon 11th December 2017 Speaker Laura Deignan

The Clemas Trust supported Laura with funding for her Masters Degree at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama to become an orchestral clarinettist.

Mon 4th December 2017 Speaker - Kay Dunbar

Kay's topic is 'Way with Words'.

Fri 1st December 2017 - Sat 23rd December 2017 Christmas collections in aid of local and Rotary charities.

Each year Rotarians of the Rotary Club of Plymouth make collections both with Santa and his sleigh and at superstores. We raised a total of £6,217 thanks to the generosity of the public. 13 local charities will benefit as a result. read more...

Mon 27th November 2017 Speaker - Suzanne Sparrow

Suzanne is a well known for her language school.

Mon 20th November 2017 SGM and report on Club Council meeting

SGM will receive the accounts for 2016/17. There will also be elections for several posts for the year 2018/9.

Mon 20th November 2017 International Meeting

Brief meeting of the International Committee to be held immediately prior to club meeting.

Mon 6th November 2017 Membership Committee Meeting

To be held at John Warren's home.

Mon 6th November 2017 Speaker - Paul Burton

Paul is the Editor of the Herald.

Mon 23rd October 2017 Report on club Council meeting

President David will report

Wed 18th October 2017 Club Council Meeting

To be held in the Dolphin Room, RWYC.

Mon 9th October 2017 Speaker - David Milford

David's topic is bee keeping.

Mon 2nd October 2017 - Mon 13th February 2017 Speaker - Cdre Ian Shipperley ADC, RN

Commodore Shipperley is Commander Devonport Naval Base

Mon 25th September 2017 Report on Club Council Meeting

President David will report.

Wed 20th September 2017 Club Council Meeting

Meeting will be held in the Dolphin Room of the RWYC.

Wed 20th September 2017 International Committee Meeting

Meeting to be held at Hakka, Southside Street.

Wed 20th September 2017 Community Committee meeting

Committee will meet at RWYC

Mon 18th September 2017 Speaker - Graham Livingston

"Graham will be giving his "My Job Talk".

Mon 11th September 2017 Speaker - Fiona Horrell

Fiona is Head of Partnerships at City College, Plymouth

Mon 4th September 2017 Speaker -Kevin Norris

Kevin is a member of the board at Albion and has replaced Bruce Priday who is unable to attend.

Mon 28th August 2017 No meeting today.

Bank Holiday

Mon 21st August 2017 Speakers - Ben & Freni Sanders

Ben's topic is his RYLA experience and his GSE trip to India. Ben is making a return visit to his first Rotary club.

Mon 14th August 2017 Speaker - Oliver Colvile

Oliver's topic is Malawi and Medic Malawi.

Mon 7th August 2017 Speaker - Maureen Stockdale

Maureen is a member of the Special Olympics Plymouth & District

Mon 24th July 2017 President David will report on recent Club Council meeting.

Also Peter Stidever will report on the activities of the Clemas Trust.

Tue 18th July 2017 International Committee Meeting

Committee will meet at The Hakka.

Mon 17th July 2017 Speaker - Jamie Miller

Jamie's attendance has been arranged by Robert Barclay.

Tue 11th July 2017 Community Committee Meeting

Committee will meet at RWYC.

Mon 10th July 2017 Speaker - Sam Cross

Sam will give her 'My Job' talk.

Mon 3rd July 2017 President handover

President Vivien will handover to President David
future calendar district events local events