Completed meetings and events 2018-2019

Tue 23rd April 2019 Speaker. President Tony, who will tell us about the Passover.

As it is Passover, President Tony will remind us all about the significance of this festival.

Tue 16th April 2019 Speaker Dr Wendy Podd

Wendy is a member of Fulwell Friends and Fulwell Library and is involved in youth work at the library. She told us about this, accompanied by her son Alex, who also spoke well about the activities with which the young people are involved.

Fri 12th April 2019 Stroke Awareness Day

The nurses at work We again had a spot in the Bridges Shopping Centre to allow the nurses to take blood pressure readings from the public.
Members asked 140 people to take part and the nurses worked hard all day to keep up.

Tue 9th April 2019 Business Meeting

Members are advised of discussions at the previous council meeting.

Tue 2nd April 2019 Speaker Michael Gough. Host Brian Franklin

Michael is returning, with his wife Linda, to give us another of his presentations.

Tue 2nd April 2019 Council Meeting

Members of council meet to plan the programme.

Tue 26th March 2019 Speaker Richard Beck. Host Dennis Heptinstall

Richard is coming to tell us about the Fulwell Sea Road Traders and Friends of Fulwell.

Tue 19th March 2019 Speaker Phil Curtis. Host Pat Emmerson

Phil is coming to give us another of his interesting talks.

Tue 12th March 2019 Visit from Freddie, one of the international Peace scholars from Durham University.Host Gordon Coxon.

Freddie from Canada is coming to tell us about her studies.

Tue 5th March 2019 Business Meeting

Following the earlier council meeting, members were up-dated on the discussions.

Tue 5th March 2019 Council Meeting

Council discussed future events.

Mon 4th March 2019 Club Dinner

President Tony and Elizabeth We returned to the Sea Hotel, South Shields for our annual Club Dinner on 4th March.
The speaker was Major Anthony Tate, who told us about the re-enactment of the cavalry movement down the frontline during the First World War.

Tue 26th February 2019 Speaker Allan Bailey. Host Gordon Coxon

Following last week's talk about St Helena, Allan showed us a promotional video of the island, which looks to be a beautiful place for the 4,000 inhabitants to live. The new airport will increase tourism substantially for them.

Tue 19th February 2019 Speaker Val Wallbank. Host Derek Bage

Val came to tell us about a trip to St Helena, where she visited to see her son, who was working there. It had clearly been a most interesting and rewarding visit.

Tue 12th February 2019 Business Meeting

Members were updated on discussions at the previous council meeting.

Tue 5th February 2019 Speaker Major John Tootill. Host Elizabeth Wortman

John Tootill from Chester le Street Rotary, accompanied by two other Rotarians, came to tell us some incidents during his 37 years service in the Army. A very interesting talk, with slides.

Tue 5th February 2019 Council Meeting

Council discusses future events

Tue 29th January 2019 District Quiz against Cleadon. Host Peter Calvert

We were drawn at home against the very knowledgeable team from Cleadon Rotary, who won convincingly.

Tue 22nd January 2019 BURNS NIGHT SUPPER

Address to the Haggis A traditional Burn Night Supper, followed by a Ceilidh with Redesmere

Tue 22nd January 2019 BURNS NIGHT SUPPER

Address to the Haggis We will again be holding a traditional Burns Night Supper to which guests are most welcome. It is always a most enjoyable night. Tickets at £20.00 now available. read more...

Tue 15th January 2019 Speaker Carol Machin. Host Peter Calvert.

Our first speaker meeting of 2019

Tue 8th January 2019 Business Meeting

Members will be advised of discussions at the previous council meeting.

Tue 8th January 2019 Council Meeting

Council members discuss future events.

Tue 1st January 2019 NO MEETING

Resting up after the previous night's celebrations

Tue 25th December 2018 NO MEETING

We are enjoying Christmas Day with family

Tue 18th December 2018 Christmas Message Speaker Rev'd Ian Davies Host Keith Higgin

Our Annual Christmas Meeting, to whichwe invite partners and guests, was a most enjoyable occasion. Children from Redby Academy entertained us with carols. We then heard an interesting Christmas Message from Rev'd Ian Davies.

Mon 17th December 2018 - Sun 23rd December 2018 Morrison's Store collections

Morrison's has agreed that we could collect in the store again during the week before Christmas.
So, we were there on 17th and 19th December and on Sunday 23rd December. People were very generous, for which we are most appreciative.

Sun 16th December 2018 KIDS OUT to Royalty Theatre Sunderland

We again took children and adult supervisors to the pantomime at the Royalty Theatre. There were less children than we hoped, but they enjoyed some interval goodies.

Tue 11th December 2018 Business Meeting

Members were advised of discussions at the previous council meeting.

Sun 9th December 2018 - Sun 16th December 2018 Santa Sleigh collections

Santa ready to visit the children. Santa went out on his sleigh round the streets of Seaburn, Fulwell and Roker. He had good weather so that lots of children were able to come out to see him.
The parents were veryappreciative, for which we are grateful.
read more...

Tue 4th December 2018 Speaker Richard Wood. Host Gordon Coxon

Our regular weekly meeting read more...

Tue 4th December 2018 Council Meeting

Council members meeting to plan future events

Tue 27th November 2018 Fellowship Meeting

Our regular weekly meeting, but without a speaker on this occasion.

Fri 23rd November 2018 - Sun 25th November 2018 Clay's Garden Centre collections

Clay's kindly agreed that we may collect again this year in the store, to swell our Benevolent Fund.
We had some excellent collections from the generous customers of the store, for which we are most grateful.

Tue 20th November 2018 Fellowship Meeting

Evening Meeting cancelled.
Lunchtime meeting as usual.
Gordon Coxon gave us a nostalgic presentation of photographs of earlier events in our club.

Tue 13th November 2018 Business Meeting

Members were updated on discussions at the previous council meeting

Sat 10th November 2018 President's Night Dinner Dance

Tony and Elizabeth started the dancing President Tony Wortman booked the Grand Hotel, Seaburn for his President's Night. Dancing was to Ian Lawrence Band, with vocalist. They were excellent and a good night was had by all. read more...

Tue 6th November 2018 Speaker Allan Bailey. Host Derek Bage

Allan gave us another of his interesting slide shows.
This time it featured the early days of trams in Sunderland and South Shields, which were then followed by trolley buses.

Tue 6th November 2018 Council Meeting

Council members meet to discuss future events

Tue 30th October 2018 Quiz practise

Our quiz team continues to practise in the hope of getting through to the next round this year!

Fri 26th October 2018 - Sat 27th October 2018 World Polio Day Collection

Lidl store on Hylton Road agreed that we may collect for two days for End Polio Now. We were grateful for this opportunity and raised almost £300 for the charity.

Tue 23rd October 2018 Speaker Celia Wright. Host Brian Thompson

Celia is Head Teacher of Sunningdale School, a special school in Sunderland which has just had an 'Outstanding' Ofsted inspection.
read more...

Tue 16th October 2018 District Governor Stewart Atkin visits

DG Stewart came to tell us about things that are of concern and that he wishes to support during his year in office.

Tue 9th October 2018 Business Meeting

We had a good meeting when members were informed of discussions at the earlier council meeting.

Fri 5th October 2018 - Sun 7th October 2018 District Conference at Harrogate

President Tony and Elizabeth at the Friday Night Dinner. Twelve members and wives attended an excellent conference, with good speakers and company.

Wed 3rd October 2018 - Thu 4th October 2018 Bring It On exhibition

A superb showcase for children in the north east to let them see what engineering is all about. read more...

Tue 2nd October 2018 Speaker. Host George Lomas

Tue 2nd October 2018 Council Meeting

Council members meet to discuss club business.

Tue 25th September 2018 Speaker Michael Dynes. Host Elizabeth Wortman

Rotarian Michael returnedto tell us of his experiences on a challenging charity walk from Glasgow to Edinburgh in aid of the British Heart Foundation.

Tue 18th September 2018 Fellowship Meeting

Because a number of members are absent, we cancelled the speaker and had a Fellowship meeting at lunchtime.

Fri 14th September 2018 - Sun 16th September 2018 The Lakes Weekend

18 Rotarians, partners and friends stayed at Damson Dene Hotel for a most enjoyable weekend. read more...

Tue 11th September 2018 Speaker Robert Head. Host Peter Calvert

Robert Head was our RYLA candidate this year and came to tell us of his experiences, accompanied by a relative and the Commanding Officer of the ATC, where he is a member. read more...

Tue 4th September 2018 Business Meeting

Members were advised of discussions at the previous council meeting. We also had a moving update on the floods in Kerala from a Sunderland Rotarian who is from there and has parents and other relatives living there. read more...

Tue 4th September 2018 Council Meeting

Council met to arrange future events.

Tue 28th August 2018 Speaker Jessica McLelland. Host John McLoughlin

Jessica with President Tony, father Ian and teacher Mark Jessica was our sponsored member in the Tall Ships Race and came to tell us about her experiences in that event. read more...

Tue 21st August 2018 Speaker Allan Bailey. Host Gordon Coxon

Allan gave us another of his interesting presentations.

Tue 14th August 2018 Business Meeting

Members were updated on discussions at the recent council meeting.

Tue 7th August 2018 Speaker Hannah Finney. Host.Peter Calvert

Hannah has very recently taken up a post as Volunteer organiser with Citizens Advice Sunderland and gave us a talk about the activities of the centre and her role. read more...

Tue 7th August 2018 Council Meeting

Council met to plan future events.

Tue 31st July 2018 The Right Worshipful the Mayor of Sunderland

Mayor with President Tony The Mayor kindly honoured us with a visit to tell us about her duties during her year in office. read more...

Sun 29th July 2018 DRAGON BOAT RACE DAY

Another Dragon Boat Race was to take place at Hetton Lyons Park. Having travelled up to the site, the organisers decided that the conditions on the lake were too dangerous, so regrettably cancelled the event. read more...

Tue 24th July 2018 Speaker.John Hutchinson

John spoke himself and told members about a difficult contract he had negotiated in Italy whilst he was working.

Tue 17th July 2018 EVENING MEETING WITH WIVES AND FRIENDS. Speaker Geoff Snowdon. Host. John Lipscombe

Geoff Snowdon gave us a very interesting talk on the provision in education for children with Special Educational Needs. read more...

Tue 10th July 2018 Speaker Lynne Symonds. Host. Pat Emmerson

Lynne called in briefly to give us an update on recent events in Ghana and advise us more about the tree-planting proposal, which we are pleased to report.

Tue 3rd July 2018 Club Assembly

Committee Chairmen presented club members with their plans for the year ahead. It looks like being another busy year. read more...

Tue 3rd July 2018 Council Meeting

Council members met to discuss future plans for the next Rotary year, for presentation to Club Assembly later.
future calendar district events local events