AM Am Golf Day @ Dunblane New Golf Course 27 June 2019

Thu 27th June 2019 at 07.00 - 19.00

AM Am Golf Day @ Dunblane New Golf Course 27 June 2019

AM Am Golf Day @ Dunblane New Golf Course 27 June 2019

Photo: 172757.jpg: The winners of the Bridge of Allan and Dunblane Rotary Club’s 2019 Am-Am Team Prize: the BoA Boys: Norman Jack, Rocco Purves, Jack Johnson and Tom Davidson


The sudden appearance of summer in the form of a cloudless sky and temperatures in the twenties provided the perfect setting for the Club’s annual Am-Am golf competition held on Thursday at Dunblane New Golf Course.  Organiser of the event, Rotarian Jim Gardner, said: “As ever, the Club is indebted to the Board of the Golf Club which offers free access to the course and to Club facilities as its contribution to the day.  Without its generosity the proceeds from the day would be greatly reduced”.  He also paid tribute to the continuing sponsorship of the event by Farmfoods: “The support from Farmfoods has been a most important element in our ability to mount this annual event”.

Fifty-two teams of four, including many regulars, turned up to compete for a variety of prizes and to give their support to Stratharron Hospice, the beneficiary of the proceeds from the event.  Particularly welcome were the three teams that had travelled from Oban. This year was the thirty-fourth time the event has been held.  Given proceeds from the day of some £11,000, it means that over the years the Am-Am has donated in excess of £350,000 to the Hospice.

Playing in ideal conditions, the competition was extremely close, with, for example, only three points separating the first three teams in the Team Prize.

Prizewinners were:

First Prize: The Fourways Trophy:  Jane McDonald

Team Prize:  The BofA Boys:  Messrs Davidson, Johnston, Purves and Jack

Best Gentlemen’s Stapleford Prize:  Bob Turner

Best Ladies’ Stapleford Prize:  Jane McDonald

Winners of the Yellow Ball Competition: The Others:  Messrs Howieson,  Ferguson, Watson and Gallacher

Winner of the Short Hole Competitions:  Alan Garrett, D Davidson and Eileen Harrild.