Completed meetings and events 2020-2021

Tue 13th April 2021 Malt Whisky, A matter of taste - Jimmy Young

Fri 9th April 2021 Gin Tasting Event

A Gin Tasting event with a difference - on Zoom! More details later

Tue 6th April 2021 No Meeting, Gin Tasting event on Friday 9th

Tue 30th March 2021 Thefts, Fakes and Forgeries - Ann Marie Michel

Tue 23rd March 2021 Victoria and Albert: Agents for Change - Margaret Mills

Tue 16th March 2021 From England to Barbados & Demerara in 1803 - Peter Covey-Crump

Mon 15th March 2021 Council Meeting

Tue 9th March 2021 Sponsoring Stoves in Africa by Maya Smethers, followed by A&Os

Tue 2nd March 2021 The 4 Way Test - Johnny B Brokken, Creek Valley Rotary Club

Tue 23rd February 2021 International Night - The work of Oxfam - Heather Tudge

Tue 16th February 2021 The sky's the Limit - Michael Ogden

Tue 9th February 2021 GIN: the spirit of Westminster - from the slums to the Savoy

One of Helen Naylor's "Bringing London's History to Life" talks

Tue 2nd February 2021 "Understanding Personal Identity" A talk by Bill Brewer

Bill is Professor of Philosophy, King's College, London; but you won't need a PhD to understand his talk!

Mon 1st February 2021 Council Meeting

Tue 26th January 2021 A&Os

Tue 19th January 2021 Jimmy Young - "It's the journey that counts - Riding a Harley Davidson"

Tue 12th January 2021 Mike Storr - Matters of Mirth

Tue 5th January 2021 "The Two Ronnies", talk by Richard Green

A look back at two icons of entertainment - with some audience participation. Bring 4 candles!!

Tue 29th December 2020 No formal meeting, 5th Tuesday

Tue 22nd December 2020 No Meeting, Christmas

Tue 15th December 2020 Jonathan Jones - "A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens"

Tue 8th December 2020 Christmas Message

Address by the new Bishop of Chester, the Rt Rev Mark Tanner, and Christmas music from Barrie Dodgson

Tue 1st December 2020 Mike Wabe - "Torrid Tales of the Tower"

Tue 24th November 2020 SGM

Tue 17th November 2020 Foundation Night, Guests welcome!

Talk by Anne Baker, Chair of Global Village Café Trust, working to support refugees throughout the world.

Mon 16th November 2020 Council Meeting

Tue 10th November 2020 A&Os

Tue 3rd November 2020 Malcolm Darroch - "In Flagrante Collecto - or how philately can get you everywhere"

Tue 27th October 2020 Stephen Tonkin - "Time and Calendars"

Tue 20th October 2020 Eric Jackson - "Wonderful Things - the discovery of the tomb of Tutankhanum

Tue 13th October 2020 David McCadden

"Working with Police Overseas"

Tue 6th October 2020 Mark Lewis - "The World of Art Deco"

Tue 29th September 2020 No formal meeting, 5th Tuesday

Tue 22nd September 2020 Katrina van Grouw, Writer, Artist, Ornithologist

"Unnatural Selection"

Tue 15th September 2020 Chris Hillier - Salter's Brewery

A date with history, and free ale (but not tonight)!

Mon 14th September 2020 Council Meeting

Subsequent meetings subject to Covid 19 situation

Tue 8th September 2020 A&Os, Committees to chose actual time & date

Tue 1st September 2020 No meeting after Bank Holiday

Tue 25th August 2020 Zoom Speaker Phil Godfrey (for APS) Scotland Tour

Tue 18th August 2020 Walk, Lovell Quinta Arboretum

Walk only now, due to government covid requirements. Meet in Swettenham Arms car park (2m apart!) at 5pm with face coverings

Tue 11th August 2020 Zoom Speaker - Graham Harrison

Arsenic, The Victorian Housewife's Friend

Tue 4th August 2020 Zoom Speaker, Keith Stevens

Climate Change? What Climate Change?

Tue 28th July 2020 Speaker, Dr Ian Bedford

Garden Bugs: Co-habit, Conserve or Control

Tue 21st July 2020 Zoom Speaker, Ian Smith - State of Mind

Mon 20th July 2020 Council Zoom Meeting

Tue 14th July 2020 A&Os, Committees to chose actual time & date

Tue 7th July 2020 Handover + Quiz

future calendar district events local events