Young Writer 2016-2017

This year’s topic was ‘Reflections’, and entries could be in prose or poetry form.

Show related pages

In the autumn term, all pupils in the area were invited to take part in this year's Young Writer competition, on the theme  "Reflections". Entries could be fiction or non-fiction, a story or a poem. The competition had three categories - junior, intermediate, and senior.

41 entries were received by the end of the spring term, with the difficult task of judging falling upon Ann Davis, Janet Ramage, and club member George Taplin. We are indebted to them.

The winners, who each received a voucher provided by the Rotary Club, were


First: Poppy Luxton of Devoran School    Second:- Isha Patwardhan of Kea School   Third:  Lola Edwards of Truro Prep School

Intermediate (all Truro High School)

First:  Felicity Hood     Second: Charlotte Coney      Third: Hannah Stephens

Seniors (also THS)

First: Emily Brewer    Second: Charlotte Brown

(ALL fields required)