Young Artist 2019

Young Artist 2019

Young Artist 2019

  Kirkcudbright Rotary Club Young Artist Competition 2019

The Kirkcudbright Rotary Club 'Young Artist' Presentation Evening, together with the Kirkcudbright Rotary Club 'Young Photographer' Presentation Evening, was held on Friday 24thMay at Kirkcudbright Academy. The theme this year was 'Colour in my World'. An exhibition of all of the winners' art work and photography is now on display to the general public in the Tolbooth in Kirkcudbright. This can be viewed throughout June and July and then all of these winning entrieswill go on display in the Cochran Hall in Kirkcudbright as part of this year's Art and Crafts Trailwhich runs from Friday 2nduntil Monday 5thAugust.

The Young Artist competition was judged by local artists Pauline Saul and Margaret Milligan. Trophies, certificates and prizes, which were given as vouchers redeemable at the Gem Shop in Castle Douglas, were provided by Kirkcudbright Rotary Club and were presented by Christine Wimbush to the winners.


Primary Section

The Rotary Primary Schools' Art Trophy :  Lachlan MacArthur Twynholm Primary

2ndprize : Emily Sutherland Gatehouse Primary

3rdprize : Iris Moodie BorguePrimary

Best in School prizes

Auchencairn : Lottie Spyer Grubb

Borgue : Lewis Trotter 

Gatehouse  : Chloe Sutherland

Kirkcudbright : Euan Gault

Twynholm : Anna Graham

Endeavour prizes

Auchencairn 1 : Daisy McClure

Auchencairn 2 : Alfie Stewart

Borgue 1 : Calvin McClune 

Borgue 2 : Ellie Saunders 

Gatehouse 1 : Ayden Dickie 

Gatehouse 2 : Zoe McQuarrie 

Kirkcudbright 1 : Courtney Carruthers

Kirkcudbright 2 : Joseph Neary

Twynholm 1 : David Murray 

Twynholm 2 : Phoenix Clachrie-Andrews

Each Primary Schoolthat provides entries will get £50 voucher to purchase art equipment 

Junior Secondary Section(all from Kirkcudbright Academy)

The Wimbush Trophy :Ryan Nicholas-Hogg 

2ndPrize: Ruby Jack

3rdprize : Murdo Hinchliff

Endeavour prizes

1Eddy Hall

2Frankie Wright

3Jake Graham

4Murray McFadyen

Senior Secondary Section (all from Kirkcudbright Academy)

 The Kirkcudbright 2000 Trophy:Hazel Surtees

2nd prize : Olivia Jackson

3rd prize : Ruby Brkljac

Kirkcudbright Academy will get a £50 to purchase art equipment 

President's ChoiceLauren McLaughlin

Overall prize:The William Hanna Clarke Trophy:Ryan Nicholas-Hogg 

Every student whose art work was submitted by the schools has been presented with a Kirkcudbright Rotary Club 'Participation' certificate.

Every student whose art work was submitted by the schools has been presented with a Kirkcudbright Rotary Club 'Participation' certificate.



WINNER: Sam Forsyth Twynham Primary

RUNNER UP: Bruce Copeman Kirkcudbright Primary

THIRD PLACE :Isabel D'haenTwynham Primary   

  Photographs kindly supplied by

                                                              Ellie Goodare