Rotary Cup

Threave Rovers Triumph

President John presents the Cup


Triumphant Threave Rovers  visit Rotary


Dumfries Rotary Club has had a very long association with the Dumfries & Galloway Youth Football Association, through its long-standing sponsorship of the Youth Football Cup, the final of which is usually played at the celebrated Palmerston Park, home of Queen of the South FC. We are most grateful to the management of this great football Club for allowing us to stage the final on their hallowed turf, a great experience for all the young players who have battled their ways into the final.

This year's final was played in the late Spring between Threave Rovers and first-time finalists Millenium from Stranraer. A thrilling, and extremely skillful game, played in the best of spirits, resulted in a second consecutive cup win for the boys from Threave Rovers.Club President John Henderson welcomed representatives from Threave Rovers in the shape of Ian Bendall, Chairman and Youth Programme leader, team Captain Liam O'Shaughnessy and team member Kieran Marshall. In his short address to the Club, Ian recollected his own membership of the winning team in 1967, thanked the Club for its support of local youth football, and hoped this support would continue. President John then formally presented the handsome Cup to Liam, after which another visitor, the well kent Lee Sterritt, himself a finalist in 1976, gave a brief talk on the success of the Dumfries & Galloway Youth Football Association, and of his pride at having been closely involved with it since its inception.

Another trophy was presented on the same day. Club member Stuart Atkinson, himself a great supporter of so many of the Club's activities and, in particular, its involvement with youth football, sadly passed away last summer. In fact we remember him at the equivalent Club meeting one year ago, when the Cup was presented and Stuart performed his usual witty vote of thanks. His widow Carole provided funds for a Cup in Stuart's memory, and it was an unanimous decision of Club members that it be presented to the Man of the Match at each year's Youth Cup Final. The first winner of the Stuart Atkinson Memorial Trophy was young Jamie Galloway, whose ball control, positional sense and general awareness impressed the judges.Such was the impression left on the Club by Stuart that it is nice to think that his name will be remembered each year on a happy occasion which, for so many of us, will be tinged with poignancy.

Tom Marchbank, on behalf of the Club, thanked all those who had taken the trouble to come along to receive the Cup. In praising the efforts of both teams in this year's final, Tom also took time to thank all the unsung heros (and, I dare say, heroines) involved in running the Association. Their tireless work is greatly appreciated