Completed meetings and events 2019-2020

Mon 29th June 2020 Litter Picking - Rotary and Cleanferry

Rotary Litter Pickers in South Queensferry Rotary and Cleanferry volunteers picked litter around South Queensferry read more...

Thu 25th June 2020 Community Awards

Ainsworth Trophy Winner 20 - Roddy Macneil Raffle - Ed Kelly
Reception - Morrison Handley-Schachler / Norman Watson,
The meeting was held via Zoom read more...

Thu 18th June 2020 Club Assembly

Raffle - Sybille Handley-Schachler
Reception - Drew Graham / Jill Templeton,
The meeting was held via Zoom read more...

Thu 11th June 2020 Speakers Evening

Speaker - Barry Rassin, Immediate Past President, Rotary International,
Raffle - Stewart Hutchison,
The meeting was held via Zoom (jointly with Rotary Club Kelso) read more...

Thu 4th June 2020 Speakers Evening

Sheila Fraser, Linlithgow Speakers (affiliated to Toastmasters International), Topic: A Memorable Message,
Raffle - Morrison Handley-Schachler,
Reception - Robert Farrelly / Allan Smith,
The meeting was held via Zoom read more...

Thu 28th May 2020 Speakers Evening

Vikki Renwick - I was working in the lab late one night, what does it take to get a vaccine to market,
Raffle - Drew Graham,
Reception - Grainger Falconer / Stuart Ridge,
The meeting was held via Zoom read more...

Thu 21st May 2020 Speakers Evening

Speaker - Mark Wilson ( VP of Coaniquem Burned Children Foundation, South Carolina): Treatment of Burned Children around South America,
Meeting held online via Zoom,
Raffle - Kate Gibb read more...

Thu 14th May 2020 Business Meeting / AGM

Raffle - Robert Farrelly
Meeting held Online via Zoom read more...

Thu 7th May 2020 Fellowship Evening - Quiz night

Speaker - Gerald Smith
Raffle - Grainger Falconer
Meeting held online via Zoom read more...

Thu 30th April 2020 British Heart Foundation

British Heart Foundation: Young Lifesavers Speaker - James Jopling, Head of Scotland, British Heart Foundation
Raffle - Iain Fairbairn
Meeting held online (Zoom) read more...

Thu 23rd April 2020 Photo Competition 2020

Winning Entry: Gateway to Vatersay Beach by Grainger Falconer Raffle - Adam Dzierzek
Meeting was held online (Zoom)
read more...

Thu 16th April 2020 Speakers Evening

Speaker - Sue Hope, Freedom From Fistula
Raffle - Graham Clarkson
Meeting held online (Zoom) read more...

Thu 9th April 2020 Rotary Quiz Night

Quiz Master - Gerald Smith
Raffle - Derek Clark
Online Meeting (Zoom) read more...

Thu 2nd April 2020 Business Meeting/AGM

Raffle - David Buchanan
Reception - Richard Brown / Pete McHale

Thu 26th March 2020 Fellowship Evening

Raffle - Irene Brownless
Reception - Alan Brown / Vikki Renwick

Thu 19th March 2020 Speakers Evening

Speaker - Sheila Fraser Topic - How to communicate - the science of our brains
Raffle - Richard Brown
Reception - Richard Brown / Liz Mackenzie

Thu 12th March 2020 Speakers Evening

Speaker - Tom Gold, The Tree Line, Topic Lifecoach
Raffle - Alan Brown
Reception - David Buchanan / Sandy Mackenzie read more...

Thu 5th March 2020 Speakers Evening

Speaker - Leslie Beirne, Job Talk
Raffle - Robbie Brechin
Reception - Gordon Wood / Graham Leith read more...

Thu 27th February 2020 Speaker Evening

Speaker - Gordon Wood, title “A Tale of Two Cities*
Raffle - Alan Armes
Reception - Norman Watson / Ed Kelly read more...

Thu 20th February 2020 District Quiz

South Queensferry Rotary welcomed Linlithgow and Bo’ness Quiz Team and guests to the Hawes inn for this round of the District Quiz.
Raffle - Jim McCulloch
Reception - Jill Templeton / Stewart Hutchison read more...

Tue 18th February 2020 Primary School Quiz 2020

Primary School Quiz held at Echline Primary School read more...

Thu 13th February 2020 Speakers Evening

Speaker - Una Race, The Dogs Trust
Raffle - Gordon Wood
Reception - Gerald Smith / Sybille Handley-Schachler read more...

Thu 6th February 2020 Business Meeting

Raffle - Norman Watson
Reception - Allan Smith / Morrison Handley-Schachler read more...

Thu 30th January 2020 Speakers Evening

Sybille and Jim Speaker - Sybille Handley-Schachler, SQ Rotary Website - User Training
Raffle - Jill Templeton
Reception - Stuart Ridge / Drew Graham read more...

Fri 24th January 2020 Burns Supper 2020

South Queensferry Rotary Burns Supper Raffle - Gerald Smith
Reception - Colin Riddell / Kate Gibb read more...

Wed 22nd January 2020 Young Musician and Vocalist Competition 2020

Rotary Young Musician and Vocalist of the Year 2020 - South Queensferry The 2020 Rotary competition for Young Musicians and Vocalists was held at Kirkliston Parish Church read more...

Thu 16th January 2020 Quiz Night

Club Quiz Winners Speaker - Gerald Smith
Raffle - Vikki Renwick
Reception - Alistair Rarity / Robert Farrelly read more...

Thu 9th January 2020 Formal Evening

Formal Night - 1 Raffle - Allan Smith
Reception - Matt Purdie / Grainger Falconer read more...

Thu 2nd January 2020 No Meeting

Thu 26th December 2019 No Meeting

Wishing you and yours all the best this holiday season...

Thu 19th December 2019 Christmas Meal

Christmas Meal 1 Raffle - Stuart Ridge
Reception - Eric Proven / Iain Fairbairn
read more...

Wed 18th December 2019 Christmas Carol Concert 2019

Annual Christmas Carol Concert at Dalmeny Kirk read more...

Sun 15th December 2019 Santa at Hopetoun Garden Centre

Santa and his sleigh Santa and his sleigh at Hopetoun Garden Centre

Thu 12th December 2019 Fellowship Evening

Raffle - Colin Riddell
Reception - Lorna Prentice / Adam Dzierzek read more...

Thu 5th December 2019 Business Meeting /SGM

Raffle -Alistair Rarity
Reception - Vikki Renwick / Graham Clarkson

Fri 29th November 2019 - Sun 1st December 2019 Hopetoun House Christmas Fair

Rotary Stall at Christmas Fair Rotary Club of South Queensferry chosen as Charity Partner for the Hopetoun House Christmas Fair read more...

Thu 28th November 2019 - Sun 22nd December 2019 Christmas Lights and Tours

Santa arrives at the Christmas Lights Event Santa and his Sleigh raised over £4000 for local projects and events read more...

Thu 21st November 2019 Speaker Evening

Marie Calder Speaker - Marie Calder, topic Historic buildings of Queensferry and Dalmeny

Internal Speaker - Lorna Prentice: Rotary H&S, training
Raffle -Lorna Prentice
Reception - Pete McHale / David Buchanan

Fri 15th November 2019 Race Night

ROTARY RACE NIGHT IS A WINNER.
£1,245 raised for Queensferry Care
read more...

Thu 14th November 2019 Speaker Evening

Dr Louise Aldridge Dr Louise Aldridge - Topic Mercy Ships
Raffle -Eric Proven
Reception - Liz Mackenzie / Irene Brownless read more...

Thu 7th November 2019 Speaker Evening

Lesley Beirne induction Speaker - Morrison Handley-Schachler. Topic: Terrorist Finance

Raffle - Vikki Renwick
Reception - Sandy Mackenzie / Richard Brown read more...

Sat 2nd November 2019 Hopetoun House Fireworks 2019

Hopetoun Fireworks 1 South Queensferry Rotary Club provided Stewards for this spectacular Event

Thu 31st October 2019 Fellowship Evening

Raffle - Neil McKinlay
Reception - Graham Leith / Alan Brown read more...

Thu 24th October 2019 Speaker Evening

Speaker - Andrew Pearson regarding the Ocean Youth Trust Scotland
Raffle -Pete McHale
Reception - Ed Kelly / Alan Armes read more...

Thu 24th October 2019 End Polio Now Day 2019

Hopetoun House lit up in Purple in Aid of 'End Polio Now' - Photo by Alistair Pryde Hopetoun House lit up in Purple in Aid of 'End Polio Now' - Photo by Alistair Pryde read more...

Thu 17th October 2019 Speaker Evening

Amy Rankin Project Trust Presentation Evening
Talks from:
Amy Rankin regarding her volunteering in India &
Lauren Marnie regarding her volunteering in Thailand.

Raffle -Jim McCulloch
Reception - Stewart Hutchison / Gordon Wood read more...

Thu 10th October 2019 Speaker Evening

Speaker - Fiona, Dalmeny Phone Box
Raffle -Liz Mackenzie
Reception - Sybille Handley-Schachler / Norman Watson read more...

Thu 3rd October 2019 Business Meeting

Raffle - Craig MacKenzie
Reception - Morrison Handley-Schachler / Jill Templeton read more...

Sun 29th September 2019 Clay Pigeon Shooting

South Queensferry Annual Clay Pigeon Shoot 2019 Rotary South Queensferry Annual Clay Pigeon Shoot read more...

Thu 26th September 2019 Speaker Evening

Speaker - Catherine Walker, Curator of the War Poets collection at Napier University's Craiglockhart Campus.
Raffle - Sandy Mackenzie
Reception - Drew Graham / Gerald Smith read more...

Thu 19th September 2019 Fellowship Evening

Raffle - Graham Leith
Reception - Kate Gibb / Allan Smith
read more...

Thu 12th September 2019 Speaker Evening

Speaker - Fiona Corner regarding Dementia Assistance Dogs.
Raffle - Ed Kelly
Reception - Robert Farrelly / Stuart Ridge read more...

Thu 5th September 2019 Speaker Evening

Speaker - Phil Godfrey from APS Support UK.
Raffle - Sybille Handley-Schachler
Reception - Grainger Falconer / Colin Riddell
read more...

Thu 29th August 2019 Speaker Evening

Speaker - Enrico Prentice, title - Haphazard.
Plus 5 minute slot with Susan Williamson regarding the Telephone Box.
Raffle - Stewart Hutchison
Reception - Iain Fairbairn / Alistair Rarity read more...

Thu 22nd August 2019 District Governor visit

District Governor Jo Pawley
Raffle - Morrison Handley Schachler
Reception - Irene Brownless/Derek Clark read more...

Sun 18th August 2019 Club BBQ

SQ Rotary Club BBQ Summer 2019 The 2019 Club BBQ read more...

Sat 17th August 2019 Hawthornbank Walled Garden Opening

Hawthornbank Opening 1 Walled Garden Opens in the Heart of Historic Queensferry read more...

Thu 15th August 2019 Business Meeting

Business meeting
Raffle - Drew Graham
Reception - Graham Clarkson / Eric Proven read more...

Mon 12th August 2019 Sea Cadets' Minibus

Sea Cadets' Presentation 1 Rotary gives £5000 towards Sea Cadets' Minibus
read more...

Sat 10th August 2019 Ferry Fair

Rotarians will be stewarding the annual procession through South Queensferry

Thu 8th August 2019 Fellowship Evening

Fellowship Evening
Raffle - Kate Gibb
Reception = Matt Purdie/ Lorna Prentice

Thu 1st August 2019 Abseil Celebration

Abseil Celebration
Speaker - Wil Tunnel, Forth Bridge Visitor Centre and Ian Heigh.
Raffle - Robert Farrelly
Reception - David Buchanan / Enrico Prentice

Thu 25th July 2019 Speaker Evening

Speaker Evening - Juliette Lee and Fiona Chandler - The Hawthorne Bank Project
Raffle - Grainger Falconer
Reception -Adam Dzierzek / Neil McKinlay read more...

Thu 18th July 2019 Speaker Evening

Iain Fairbairn - You Couldn't Make It Up Part 2
Raffle - Iain Fairbairn
Reception - Richard Brown / Pete McHale read more...

Thu 11th July 2019 Speaker Evening

Speaker - Calum Bruce, Group Manager - Prevention and Protection

Raffle - Adam Dzierzek
Reception - Alan Brown / Gerald Smith read more...

Sun 7th July 2019 2019 Forth Bridge Abseil

Gemma McKenzie from Leaps and Bounds abseiling for CHAS Ten years of Rotary Forth Bridge Abseil tops £1,000,000 for charities read more...

Thu 4th July 2019 Speaker Evening

Gerald Smith - Sandy's Year in Pictures
Raffle - Graham Clarkson
Reception - Robbie Brechin / Liz Mackenzie read more...
future calendar district events local events