5 September 2013 - great day in the sun for Club's golfers


Twenty six players gathered for our second appearance at Aldwickbury Park Golf Club near Harpenden on Thursday, 5th September for bacon rolls and coffee.

The golf course was designed by Ken Brown and ranks amongst the best ROAGS have played and a test for any golfer.

An excellent 3-course dinner with coffee followed and it was nice to welcome guests, Lilianne Kilshaw and Diney Crabtree who joined us for dinner.

After dinner, John Stephenson inducted Anne and Charles Hogbin into the Noble Order of ROAGS and presented them with the ROAGS Charter.  They tried desperately to hide their excitement and enthusiasm knowing how much they will now be elevated in society but managed to retain their composure as they accepted the scrolls. 

President Roger then presented the prizes to the winners who were: -

Overall                          Rosemary Hunt  (37 points)
Runner-up                    Vic French (36 points)
Best front 9                   Irene Glyn-Jones (19 points)
Best back 9                  Bruno Kilshaw (18 points)
Nearest pin (L)             Joan McLoughlin
Nearest pin (M)            Derek Brown
Longest drive (L)          Rosemary Hunt
Longest drive (M)         John Stephenson
Best par 3s                   Terry Neale (10 points)
30+ h/cap winner (L)     Val Merrett  (31 points)
24+ h/cap winner (M)    Roger Wyborn  (34 points)

After the presentations of the ROAGS prizes, Sports Officer Peter McLoughlin, and the President presented the annual Rotary Golf Cup and Rose Bowl for the winning man and lady which used to be played for annually.

Related pages...

Action on the 10th and 14th greens

Over £9000 raised at Chiltern Charity Golf Classic

more 8 September 2016 at Harewood Downs Golf Club

21 October 2014 - ROAGS Meeting

more '

4 September 2014 - Chiltern Golf Classic

more .

ROAGS Meeting 10th July 2014

more .

4 March 2014 - Club darts team triumphs in District Final

more The winning team: Bruno Kilshaw, Peter McLoughlin, Vic French and Club President Roger Wyborn.

11 October 2013 - Amersham win Team Prize at District Golf Tournament

more .

29 August 2013 - Chiltern Charity Golf Classic - the winners

more .

10 June 2013 - Club's golf society members enjoy a great day

more .

2013 Chiltern Charity Golf Classic details

more .

5 November 2012 - Chris is ROAGS trophy winner

more .

3 July 2012 - Club Golf Society - tournament winners receive their prizes

more social activities, golf


more .

16 April 2012 - Bernice wins Club's golf trophy

more Overall winner Bernice Stephenson receives the coveted ROAGS trophy from President George Boyle.

May 2010 - Vic French wins our annual Darts Tournament

more Vic French (right) beat Allan Childs in this year's Archie Ferguson Darts Tournament.

27 August 2010 - Barbecue at Amersham Hill Cricket Club


6 September 2010 - Club Golf Society (ROAGS) annual dinner


15 September 2010 - District Triples Bowls Tournament winners


9 February 2011 - Darts team off to a winning start


24 February 2011 - Club team win second match in District Darts Tournament


2nd July 2011 - RC Amersham v RC Bensheim-Heppenheim Golf Tournament


5 July 2011 - ROAGS Golf Tournament Winner - Vic French


6 September 2012 - another great Chiltern Charity Golf Classic

more .

back to page above this...