Sport/ 5 September 2013 - great day in the sun for Club's golfers


Show related pages

Twenty six players gathered for our second appearance at Aldwickbury Park Golf Club near Harpenden on Thursday, 5th September for bacon rolls and coffee.

The golf course was designed by Ken Brown and ranks amongst the best ROAGS have played and a test for any golfer.

An excellent 3-course dinner with coffee followed and it was nice to welcome guests, Lilianne Kilshaw and Diney Crabtree who joined us for dinner.

After dinner, John Stephenson inducted Anne and Charles Hogbin into the Noble Order of ROAGS and presented them with the ROAGS Charter.  They tried desperately to hide their excitement and enthusiasm knowing how much they will now be elevated in society but managed to retain their composure as they accepted the scrolls. 

President Roger then presented the prizes to the winners who were: -

Overall                          Rosemary Hunt  (37 points)
Runner-up                    Vic French (36 points)
Best front 9                   Irene Glyn-Jones (19 points)
Best back 9                  Bruno Kilshaw (18 points)
Nearest pin (L)             Joan McLoughlin
Nearest pin (M)            Derek Brown
Longest drive (L)          Rosemary Hunt
Longest drive (M)         John Stephenson
Best par 3s                   Terry Neale (10 points)
30+ h/cap winner (L)     Val Merrett  (31 points)
24+ h/cap winner (M)    Roger Wyborn  (34 points)

After the presentations of the ROAGS prizes, Sports Officer Peter McLoughlin, and the President presented the annual Rotary Golf Cup and Rose Bowl for the winning man and lady which used to be played for annually.