Young Writer Winners 2024

District winners in Junior, Intermediate and Senior categories. The theme set for this year's competition was "Rebuilding"

Junior category (for students aged 7 - 11 years)

Winner: Isabella Jordon   (Raleigh School sponsored by Rotary Club of Bookham and Horsley)

The judges said it had a good rebuilding theme topical for her age well written. 

Read Isabella's winning entry here.

Highly Recommended 

  • Freddie Sloan - the judges liked the idea that home was where the family was so the Orangutans could rebuild in a different part of the forest.

Intermediate category (for students aged 11 - 13 years) 

Winner: Elliot Oram (Cranmore School sponsored by Rotary Club of Bookham and Horsley (

The judges said it was an ultimate example of rebuilding with a good beginning and ending. (About a spitfire crashing and rebuilding it from a damaged tank)

Read Elliot's winning entry here.

Highly recommended

  • Nancy Shapiro from Lindfield Primary sponsored by Rotary Club of Cuckfield, Lindfield and Haywards Heath - the judges liked the idea of the doll's house being reinvented with a different approach.

Senior category (for students aged 14 - 17 years)

Winner: Gabriela Cassidy (Churchers College sponsored by Rotary Club of Petworth and Midhurst)

The judges said she used good language, strong sense of reality and her poem flowed well 

Read Gabriela's winning entry here.

Highly commended

  • Tara Wathelston from Reed's School sponsored by Rotary Club of Dorking - the judges commented that the fact it was about a riot made it have a human take on rebuilding; they were observing the aftermath.
  • Emilia McBurney from Manor House sponsored by Rotary Club of Bookham and Horsley - the judges said good idea rebuilding and relationships very heartfelt.

Related pages...

Young Writer Winners 2023

more National winner in Junior Category and District winners in Senior and Intermediate Categories. The theme set for year's competition was "Peace"

back to page above this...

Young Writer

back How to enter the Young Writer Competition